
Amusement Rides and Amusement Attractions Safety Act 
 

Amusement rides and attractions are loads of fun but come with some inherent safety hazards if 
not maintained, assembled and operated properly.  The West Virginia Legislature passed the 
Amusement Rides and Amusement Attractions Safety Act in 1988 to guard against personal 
injuries to the general public in the assembly, disassembly and use of amusement rides and 
attractions at carnivals, fairs and amusement parks, and to assure that the owner maintains 
sufficient levels of liability insurance to protect the public in the event of an accident. 
 
Owners and/or operators of amusement rides and attractions are required to register their 
equipment with the Division of Labor providing company information, a list of rides/attractions 
that will be used in West Virginia, a list of playdates in the state and evidence of insurance in an 
amount not less than $300,000 per person and $1,000,000 in the aggregate. 
 
Amusement rides and attractions must be inspected prior to first use in the state each year.  Since 
2005, inspections have been performed by approved private inspectors.  Inspectors must hold a 
current NAARSO Certification (Limited Specialty, Level 1, 2, or 3) or have documentation of 

education, training and experience that is the 
equivalent of a NAARSO Certification and 
documentation that he or she has successfully passed 
an examination that is substantially equivalent to a 
NAARSO examination.  The private inspectors make 
application to the Division each year for inclusion on 
the approved list of inspectors providing evidence of 
insurance against errors and omissions in an amount 
of not less than $100,000 per occurrence. 
 
Amusement ride/attraction owners/operators will 
have proof of inspection in the form of a certificate 
of inspection, which must be made readily available 
to the public at any reasonable time at the carnival, 

fair or event where the amusement ride or attraction is located.  In addition to the certificate, 
each amusement device will have a 4” X 4” Permit to Operate affixed to the device.  If the 
device is an inflatable, the Permit to Operate is a plastic seal affixed to the left rear tie-down.  All 
Permits to Operate expire on December 31 of the year inspected. 

        

Event sponsors are 
encouraged to ask 
amusement ride owners 
for proof of current 
inspection.  If there are 
questions, please call 
our office for assistance. 
304.558.7890  


