
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: (304) 558-7890

WEST VIRGINIA CONTRACTOR LICENSING BOARD

This application/affidavit is to be used when 
applying for a license to perform contracting 

Upon completion, please return

APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT

CONTRACTOR LICENSE

work in the State of West Virginia.

labor.wv.gov

West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board

the application/affidavit and $90.00 fee to the:

State Capitol Complex - Building 3, Room 200
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East

http://www.labor.wv.gov/#


Building 3, Room 200

This Section is to be used by you to supply the Licensing Board with general information concerning your business. The

(304) 558-7890

PAGE 1, SECTION 1: GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

Please read the following instructions carefully prior to filling out your application/affidavit. These
instructions refer to the information requested on pages 1,2,3 and 4.

Charleston, WV 25305

PLEASE READ EACH QUESTION CAREFULLY AND PRINT OR

APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT.

1900 Kanawha Boulevard East

MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF NINETY DOLLARS $90.00 

READ FIRST !
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS

State Capitol Complex

WITH THIS APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT. NO CASH PLEASE . 

TYPE YOUR RESPONSES IN A LEGIBLE MANNER.

FAILURE TO FULLY ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS WILL BE
SUFFICIENT GROUNDS FOR REJECTION OF THE

Current or anticipated number of employees working in West Virginia:

information requested is generally self-explanatory. However, the last two (2) questions are to be answered in the following

manner…..

Will you start working in West Virginia within ninety (90) days?:

Only list current or anticipated employees in West Virginia. Do not list employees working for you in another state.

PAGE 1, SECTION 2: INFORMATION CONCERNING OTHER AGENCIES

In this Section, list the account numbers requested on the form which apply to your business.

MAKE PAYABLE TO:

WEST VIRGINIA CONTRACTOR LICENSING BOARD

ENCLOSE A CHECK, CERTIFIED CHECK, CASHIERS CHECK OR

This means within ninety (90) days from the date your license application is submitted to the Contractor Licensing Board.

Department. (304) 558-3333. (Must submit a current Letter of Good Standing )

The second number is your WV Business Registration Tax Number, which is obtained from the West Virginia State Tax

The first number is your Federal Employer Identification Number. 



The third number is your Unemployment Compensation Number. If you employ a West Virginia resident, this number must 
be assigned to your business by Workforce West Virginia's Unemployment Compensation Division (304) 558-2624. If you do 
not have any employees, mark "No Employees" in the space provided. If ALL of your current or anticipated employees who
will be working in WV reside out-of-state, submit proof of coverage from your state with this application/affidavit.

The fourth number is your Workers' Compensation Policy Number. State law requires employers to obtain Workers'
Compensation coverage for employees in the event of a workplace injury. If you employ one person in West Virginia you
are required by law to obtain Workers' Compensation Insurance. If you do not have any employees, write "No Employees"
in the space provided.

ELECTION: The Workers' Compensation Act requires that wages be reported and premiums paid for sole proprietors, 
partners in a partnership and corporate officers, including Board of Director members. The employer may elect to not report
these wages and not provide the benefits and protections of the Workers' Compensation Act for these persons, but failure to
inform the Office of the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner of this election makes the employer liable.

EXTRA-TERRITORIAL COVERAGE: Certain out-of-state employers who have their permanent employees working in West
Virginia only temporarily and who meet other legal tests may be exempt from the requirement to obtain Workers'
Compensation Insurance coverage from an insurer licensed in this state. ("Temporarily" means working no more than 
thirty (30) days within a three hundred sixty five (365) day period)

Employers must apply directly to a private carrier for this insurance coverage. Workers' Compensation Insurance is available
from insurers licensed in this state to provide such coverage.

For information regarding available insurers or possible exemptions, contact the Office of the West Virginia Insurance
Commissioner at (304) 558-6279.

A wage bond is required in West Virginia for a contractor who has not been actively and actually engaged in construction  
work in West Virginia for at least one (1) year preceding the completion date of this application/affidavit form.
If an employer meets one of the following, they shall be exempt from the requirements of this sub-section:
   (1) Has been in business in another state for at least five years;
   (2) Has at least $100,000 in assets; or
   (3) Is a subsidiary of a parent company that has been in business for at least five years.
A wage bond is NOT required for a contractor who only performs residential (Single Family Dwelling) work.
This bond is equal to the total of four (4) weeks gross payroll at full capacity or production, plus fifteen (15%) percent
for benefits.
If this section does not apply to you, simply mark the "NOT APPLICABLE" box. If this section does apply to you, mark 
the "APPLICABLE" box and answer the other questions in this section.
If you are required to obtain a wage bond or need further information about being exempt, please contact the 
West Virginia Division of Labor at (304) 558-7890 Ext. 10475 or send an email to WageandHour@wv.gov. 

The wage bond affidavit MUST be completed and notarized regardless if you are posting a bond or not. This form 
must be submitted with the application/affidavit.

If your business is a Corporation, General Partnership, Limited Liability Company, Limited Liability Partnership or Limited
Partnership, answer the applicable questions on page 2.
If your business is a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, Limited Liability Partnership or Limited Partnership, you must
obtain a Certificate of Authority from the Secretary of State, (304) 558-8000, before your application can be processed.
Page 3 must be signed to attest to the information you have given in this application/affidavit by signature and notarization.
You must complete page 4 listing the name(s) and last 4 digits of the social security number(s) of the person(s) who tested to 
qualify your company. Mark the appropriate exams that were taken. The person(s) must submit a notarized statement, with 
the application, allowing the use of his or her test scores to qualify this applicant.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGES 2, 3 and 4

PAGE 1, SECTION 3: WAGE BOND INFORMATION



Page 1

County:

     Corporation General Partnership Limited Liability Company

          Limited Liability Partnership Limited Partnership Sole Proprietorship (Individual)

Yes No

Yes No

Federal Employer Identification #: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WV Business Registration Tax #: (Submit current letter of good standing) 

Unemployment Compensation #:  (Submit last quarterly report)  >>>>>>>

Workers' Compensation Policy #: (Submit copy of certificate) >>>>>>>>>

Check if . . .

Month Day Year

employees.

Current or anticipated number of employees working in West Virginia (Resident and Non-Resident):

          Money Order #:

(Number of Employees)

Will you start working in WV within ninety (90) days? 

This bond is to cover wages and benefits for 

If Yes, list business name(s) and license # (s):

* PLEASE TURN TO PAGES (2), (3) AND (4) TO COMPLETE THIS APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT.

SECTION 1: GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

Type of Operation:

Amount of Bond:      $

          Check #:

Have you ever been licensed as a contractor in West Virginia?

Business Name:

Mailing Address:

City: State:                                    Zip: 

Telephone Number:        Facsimile Number:                         

If you want to correspond via email, please include your email address:

Physical Location:

          Amount:               $

Date ReceivedTHIS AREA BOARD USE ONLY

SECTION 3: WAGE BOND INFORMATION 

SECTION 2: INFORMATION CONCERNING OTHER AGENCIES
(See Instructions for Section 2)

(See Instructions for Section 1)

(Submit Wage Bond Affidavit to verify you are reporting NO EMPLOYEES) 

(See Instructions for Section 3)
(The wage bond affidavit must be completed, notarized and accompany this application)

NOT APPLICABLE

Date bond executed:

DO NOT FORGET TO SIGN YOUR AFFIDAVIT AND HAVE IT NOTARIZED ON PAGE 3.

APPLICABLE (If applicable, fill out information below and submit your wage bond and affidavit)

License Number



Page 2

When?

(Complete the following)

Vice President >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

President >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

In what state are you incorporated?

Principal office location:

A copy of your Certificate of Authority from the WV Secretary of State must accompany this application/affidavit.

IF A CORPORATION,

IF A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY OR P.L.L.C.

LIST CORPORATE OFFICERS BELOW

. . . IF A GENERAL PARTNERSHIP, LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP OR LIMITED PARTNERSHIP,

Name of Each Partner Address City State

(Complete the following)

Secretary >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Treasurer >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

(Complete the following)
(LIST MEMBERS)

A copy of your Certificate of Authority from the WV Secretary of State must accompany this application/affidavit.



Page 3

The person or firm whose name appears on this application/affidavit certifies compliance with WV Business Registration
Tax provisions and is registered and in compliance with Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Compensation and the 
Wage Bonding Law, if applicable.

The undersigned hereby represent(s) that the forgoing statements and answers are true and correct to the best of his or 
her knowledge, information and belief.

STATE OF County of

day of 20           . My Commission

expires the day of 20            .    

(Date)

VERIFICATION STATEMENT

Print or type name of owner here

IF A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY OR P.L.L.C.  . . .

IF A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP (INDIVIDUAL) . . .

IF A CORPORATION . . .

(Signature of Owner)

(Signature of Partner)

IF A GENERAL PARTNERSHIP, LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP OR A LIMITED PARTNERSHIP . . .

(Date)

Print or type partner name  here

AFFIDAVIT

(Signature of Corporate Officer) (Date)

Print or type name of owner  here

Print or type name and title here

(Signature of Owner) (Date)

Subscribed and sworn to before me, the undersigned Notary Public, in and for the State or County

aforesaid this

Notary Public



Page 4

(Required of all applicants)

     Electrical Contractor      Concrete

     General Building Contractor      Excavation

     General Engineering Contractor

     Heating, Ventilating & Cooling Contractor      Masonry

     Multi-Family Contractor

     Piping Contractor

     Plumbing Contractor

     Residential Contractor

If you are a Specialty Contractor only, please describe the type of work your business performs.

Please list the name(s) of the person(s) who passed the examination(s) for your business:

Name: Exam Date:

Name: Exam Date:

Name: Exam Date:

Name: Exam Date:

If the person(s) who tested is not an Owner, Partner, Member or Corporate Officer of the company, payroll records
must accompany this application/affidavit. The person(s) taking the exam to qualify your company must be a
full-time employee at the time of testing and renewal. The person(s) must submit a notarized statement, with this 
application, allowing the use of his or her test scores to qualify this applicant.

Last Four Digits of SS #:

Last Four Digits of SS #:

Last Four Digits of SS #:

Last Four Digits of SS #:

Business & Law

Contractor License Exams

PRIVACY NOTICE

     Sprinkler & Fire Protection

     Steel Erection (Structural Steel)

THIS PAGE MUST BE COMPLETED

The Division of Labor processes your personal information for appropriate and customary business purposes. Your personal information may be 
disclosed to other State agencies or third parties in the normal course of business as needed to comply with State or Federal laws.

     Remodeling & Repair Contractor

Please indicate the exam(s) you have passed by placing an X in front of the exam category.

     Utilities (Sewer & Water) Contractor

Revised 6/4/2020

     Manufactured Home Installation



Form WBA1 Revised July 7, 2017          * Instructions & Privacy Statement on Back/Next Page  

 
 

 
 
 

 

                           
                 Enter Full Company Name (to include dba) as Registered with the WV State Tax Department 
  
                                        _____________ _       

                                                             Current Business Mailing Address                                  

Type of Business:  Construction �  Mining �  Transportation of Minerals �    Not Applicable *� (attach a scope of work) 

 

I,                   , as                                           

          (Print Name of Owner, Partner, LLC Member or Corp Officer)                       (Enter Title) 

of the above named business entity understand that it is my responsibility to increase my wage bond whenever my 

workforce increases and that a failure to maintain an adequate wage bond may result in administrative and/or criminal 

action.  
    

  ________________________________________                

                  (Signature of Authorized Representative)                                           (Enter Date) 

Taken, subscribed, and sworn to before me this   _   _    day of    , 20 _  _   .          

 

      __________     _                             

                            (Notary Public Signature) 

 

My commission expires         

Email Address           

9 Digit FEIN #  PHONE #  

PhonePhonePhonePhone::::        304 558 7890304 558 7890304 558 7890304 558 7890    

FaxFaxFaxFax::::                            304 304 304 304 558 3797558 3797558 3797558 3797    

Email:   wageandhour@wv.govEmail:   wageandhour@wv.govEmail:   wageandhour@wv.govEmail:   wageandhour@wv.gov                    

http://www.http://www.http://www.http://www.labor.wv.govlabor.wv.govlabor.wv.govlabor.wv.gov    

 

         Wage & Hour Section Wage & Hour Section Wage & Hour Section Wage & Hour Section     

                                1111900900900900    Kanawha Boulevard EastKanawha Boulevard EastKanawha Boulevard EastKanawha Boulevard East    

                                State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 200State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 200State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 200State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 200    

                                Charleston, WV 25305Charleston, WV 25305Charleston, WV 25305Charleston, WV 25305    

    

    West Virginia Division of LaborWest Virginia Division of LaborWest Virginia Division of LaborWest Virginia Division of Labor    

                Wage Bond Status Affidavit Wage Bond Status Affidavit Wage Bond Status Affidavit Wage Bond Status Affidavit     

Exemptions Please � only 1 box. (See back of form for exemptions that require additional verification) 

  Work performed in West Virginia is limited to single family dwellings and/or family farming enterprises.  

  Company does not have any employees working within the state of West Virginia.   

  Company has been in business with employees in the state of West Virginia for a period of one year. * 

  Company has been in business in another state for a period of five years. * 

  Company has $100,000.00 or more in available assets and would like to claim that as an exemption. * 

  Company is a subsidiary of a parent company that has been in business for more than five years. * 

       To claim this exemption, enter the name and address of the qualifying parent company below: 

                               

Bond Required - Companies that do not qualify for one of the above exemptions must post a wage bond with the 

Division of Labor for a period of 1 year. To determine the amount of bond required enter the following Information.  

1. 4 weeks’ payroll in WV @ maximum capacity or production   $     

2. Enter 15% of the amount of line 1.                  $     

Total the amounts on Lines 1 & 2 to determine bond amount.               $        

Enter the number of employees working in WV   



Wage Bond Status Reporting  

 

A company that’s engaged in construction, mining, or the transportation of minerals within the state of West 

Virginia must register with the Division of Labor concerning its wage bond status.  The completion of a “Wage 

Bond Status Affidavit” allows a company to register with the Division of Labor by claiming a wage bond exemption, 

or to declare the number of employees working in West Virginia and the amount of bond required. 

Exemptions 

Not all companies must post a wage bond.  Any company that qualifies for one of the exemptions stated below 

may claim that exemption by submitting a completed “Status Affidavit”.  Please note that some exemptions 

require additional evidence to verify that the company qualifies for the exemption, while others do not.  The 

exemptions listed on the front of the affidavit that may require additional evidence are marked with an asterisk *.    

Exemptions that DO NOT require additional evidence or verification to qualify include:  

• Companies that have been in business in West Virginia, with employees, for a period of at least one (1) 

year and have reported employee wages to an unemployment account registered with WorkForce West 

Virginia within that same year.     

• Companies that do not have employees physically working in West Virginia.  

• Companies that are engaged solely in the construction of single family dwellings and/or family farming 

enterprises.  

• Companies that are a subsidiary of a parent company that is registered with the Division as exempt.    

• Out-of-state companies that have maintained one or more of the following licenses or registrations for a 

period of at least five years.   

• A West Virginia Contractor License.  

• A Business Registration Certificate with the West Virginia State Tax Department. 

• A Corporate Registration with the West Virginia Secretary of State.    

Exemptions that MAY require additional evidence or verification to qualify include:  

• Companies that have been in business in another state for 5 years but do not hold any of the above stated 

registrations or licenses MUST attach evidence to verify business activity within another state.    

• Companies that have been working in West Virginia, with employees, for a period of 1 year that do not 

have a WorkForce West Virginia unemployment account must submit additional evidence to verify 

employee activity in this state.   

• Companies that choose to claim the exemption for $100,000.00 in available assets MUST submit evidence 

to support the exemption.    

Industry Specific Determinations/Exemptions 

Companies that wish to obtain an opinion from the Division of Labor that the nature of their work does not fall 

within the definitions of construction, mining, or the transportation of minerals as defined in §21-5-1 may apply 

for an exemption by completing a Status Affidavit and checking the box titled as: “Not Applicable  ���� “.  All such 

requests require a complete description or scope of work that’s being performed.  

Bond Required 

Companies that do not qualify for a wage bond exemption and have employees working in West Virginia must 

post a wage bond with the Division of Labor in the amount of 4 weeks’ payroll, plus an additional 15%, at 

maximum productivity.   A completed Status Affidavit must accompany all new wage bonds submitted.   

 

 

 
 

The Division of Labor processes your personal information for appropriate and customary business purposes. Your personal 

information may be disclosed to other State agencies or third parties in the normal course of business as needed to comply 

with State or Federal laws.  If you have any questions about the Division of Labor’s use of your personal information or 

would like a copy of the Division’s complete privacy notice, please submit a written request to 

LaborAdministration@wv.gov. 

 



Tested Classifications   

 All applicants must take the West Virginia Business & Law Examination 

A Electrical  
B General Building 
C General Engineering 
D HVAC 
E Multi-Family 
F Piping 
G Plumbing 
H Residential 
I  Specialty 
X WV Business & Law 

Untested Specialties - Limit three (3) 
Business & Law Exam Only 

↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓ 

001 Drywall
003 Landscaping 
006 Asphalt 
008 Residential Pools 
009 Siding 
010 Roofing 
012 Low Voltage Systems (Under 50 Volts) 
015 Painting 
016 Demolition 
017 Doors 
018 Caulking 
019 Communication & Sound 
020 Cable 
023 Fencing 
024 Land Clearing 
025 Sheet Metal 
026 Insulation 
027 Floor Covering 
030 Gutters 
031 Highway Striping 
034 Instrumentation 
035 Plastering 
036 Drilling 
037 Crane (Operator(s) must be certified)
051 Carpet Installation 
053 Pressure Washing / Sandblasting 
054 Sign Installation (No Electrical) 
058 Finished Carpentry 

002 Excavation 
004 Masonry 
005 Remodeling & Repair 
007 Concrete 
011 Structural Steel 
013 Manufactured Home Installation  

(HUD Certified Homes Only) 
014 Sprinkler & Fire Protection 
021 Utilities (Sewer & Water) 

060 Locksmith 
061 Storage Tank Removal (*DEP) 
062 Asbestos Removal (*OEHS) 
063 Septic & Sewer Systems (*OEHS)
064 Water Well Drilling (*OEHS) 
068 Cable Television 
069 Window Installation 
071 Welding 
079 Environmental/Hazardous Waste 
082 Glass & Glazing 
083 Decks 
084 Ceilings 
086 Tile Installation 
087 Stucco
088 Soil Stabilization 
089 Foundation Support Systems 
999 Specialty 

*Refer to other Agency.

DEP - Department of Environmental Protection 

OEHS – Office of Environmental Health Services 

Revised 10/10/2017 
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