

### **CONTRACTOR LICENSE APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT**

This application/affidavit is to be used when applying for a license to perform contracting work in the State of West Virginia.

Upon completion, please return the application/affidavit and **\$90.00** fee to the:

West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East State Capitol Complex - Building 3, Room 200 Charleston, WV 25305 Email: CLBoard@wv.gov \* Main: (304) 558-7890 Web: <u>labor.wv.gov</u>

# READ FIRST !

PLEASE READ EACH QUESTION CAREFULLY AND *PRINT* OR *TYPE* YOUR RESPONSES IN A LEGIBLE MANNER.

FAILURE TO FULLY ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS WILL BE SUFFICIENT GROUNDS FOR REJECTION OF THE APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT.

ENCLOSE A CHECK, CERTIFIED CHECK, CASHIERS CHECK OR MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF NINETY DOLLARS **\$90.00** WITH THIS APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT. *NO CASH PLEASE*. MAKE PAYABLE TO:

WEST VIRGINIA CONTRACTOR LICENSING BOARD 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East State Capitol Complex Building 3, Room 200 Charleston, WV 25305 (304) 558-7890

Please read the following instructions carefully prior to filling out your application/affidavit. These instructions refer to the information requested on pages 1,2,3 and 4.

PAGE 1, SECTION 1: GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS (CURRENT & PREVIOUS)

This Section is to be used by you to supply the Licensing Board with general information concerning your business.

Will you start working in West Virginia within ninety (90) days?:

This means within ninety (90) days from the date your license application is submitted to the Contractor Licensing Board.

Current or anticipated number of employees working in West Virginia:

Only list current or anticipated employees in West Virginia. Do not list employees working for you in another state.

### PAGE 1, SECTION 2: INFORMATION CONCERNING OTHER AGENCIES

In this Section, list the account numbers requested on the form which apply to your business.

The first number is your Federal Employer Identification Number.

The second number is your **WV Business Registration Tax Number**, which is obtained from the West Virginia State Tax Department. **(304) 558-3333**. (Must submit a current *Letter of Good Standing*)

The third number is your Unemployment Compensation Number. If you employ a West Virginia resident, this number must be assigned to your business by Workforce West Virginia's Unemployment Compensation Division (304) 558-2624. If you do not have any employees, mark "No Employees" in the space provided. If <u>ALL</u> of your current or anticipated employees who will be working in WV reside out-of-state, submit proof of coverage from your state with this application/affidavit.

The fourth number is your **Workers' Compensation Policy Number**. State law requires employers to obtain Workers' Compensation coverage for employees in the event of a workplace injury. If you employ one person in West Virginia you are required by law to obtain Workers' Compensation Insurance. If you do not have any employees, write **"No Employees"** in the space provided.

**ELECTION**: The Workers' Compensation Act requires that wages be reported and premiums paid for sole proprietors, partners in a partnership and corporate officers, including Board of Director members. The employer may elect to not report these wages and not provide the benefits and protections of the Workers' Compensation Act for these persons, but failure to inform the Office of the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner of this election makes the employer liable.

**EXTRA-TERRITORIAL COVERAGE**: Certain out-of-state employers who have their permanent employees working in West Virginia only temporarily and who meet other legal tests may be exempt from the requirement to obtain Workers' Compensation Insurance coverage from an insurer licensed in this state. ("**Temporarily**" means working no more than thirty (30) days within a three hundred sixty five (365) day period)

Employers must apply directly to a private carrier for this insurance coverage. Workers' Compensation Insurance is available from insurers licensed in this state to provide such coverage.

For information regarding available insurers or possible exemptions, contact the **Office of the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner** at **(304) 558-6279**.

### PAGE 1, SECTION 3: WAGE BOND INFORMATION

A wage bond is required in West Virginia for a contractor who has not been actively and actually engaged in construction work in West Virginia, **with employees**, for at least one (1) year preceding the completion date of this application/affidavit. If an employer meets one of the following, they are exempt from the requirements of this sub-section:

- (1) Has been in business in another state for at least five years;
- (2) Has at least \$100,000 in assets; or
- (3) Is a subsidiary of a parent company that has been in business for at least five years.

A wage bond is **NOT** required for a contractor who only performs residential (**Single Family Dwelling**) work.

This bond is equal to the total of four (4) weeks gross payroll at full capacity or production, plus fifteen (15%) percent for benefits.

If this section does not apply to you, simply mark the "**NOT APPLICABLE**" box. If this section does apply to you, mark the "**APPLICABLE**" box and answer the other questions in this section.

If you are required to obtain a wage bond or need further information about being exempt, please contact the West Virginia Division of Labor at (304) 558-7890 or send an email to <u>WageandHour@wv.gov</u>.

The wage bond affidavit MUST be completed and notarized regardless if you are posting a bond or not. This form must be submitted with the application/affidavit.

### **INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGES 2, 3 and 4**

If your business is a Corporation, General Partnership, Limited Liability Company, Limited Liability Partnership or Limited Partnership, answer the applicable questions on page **2**.

If your business is a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, Limited Liability Partnership or Limited Partnership, you must obtain a Certificate of Authority from the Secretary of State, **(304) 558-8000**, before your application can be processed. Page 3 must be signed to attest to the information you have given in this application/affidavit by signature and notarization. You must complete page **4** listing the name(s) and last 4 digits of the social security number(s) of the person(s) who tested to qualify your company. Mark the appropriate exams that were taken. The person(s) must submit a notarized statement, with the application, allowing the use of his or her test scores to qualify this applicant.

					Page 1
License Number			ARD USE ONL	Y C	Date Received
		ney Order #: eck #:			
		iount:	6		
	SECTION 1: GEN			UR BUSINESS	
		(See Instructio	ons for Section 1)		
Business Entity Name:					
Mailing Address:					
City:			State:	Zip:	
Telephone Number:			Facsimile Num	iber:	
Email Address:					
Physical Location:				County:	
Type of Operation:	Corporation	Gener	al Partnership	Limited L	iability Company
Limited Liability Partn	ership	Limited Par	tnership	Sole Proprietor	ship (Individual)
Will you start working in WV w	ithin ninety (90) day	/s?	Yes	No	
Current or anticipated number	of employees work	ing in West Virg	inia (Resident and N	Non-Resident):	
Have you ever been licensed in	າ West Virginia or a	iny other state o	r jurisdiction? Y	′es 🗌	No 🗌
If Yes, list business entity name	ə(s), license # (s) a	nd states or juris	sdictions:		
Have you ever had your license	-	-			
Have you ever had a court jude			-		your occupation as a
contractor? Yes	No If yes, ple	ase provide info	rmation regarding ju	udgment(s) below.	
WV court judgments:					
Court judgments in any other s					
	SECTION 2: INF	ORMATION CO	ONCERNING OTHE		
		(See Instructio	ons for Section 2)		
Federal Employer Identification	ı #: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>	>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>	>>>>>		
WV Business Registration Tax	#: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>	->>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>	>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>		
Unemployment Compensation	#: (Submit last qua	arterly report) >:	>>>>>		
Workers' Compensation Policy	#: (Submit copy of	certificate) >>>	>>>>>		
	SECT		BOND INFORMATI	ON	
(The Wa	age Bond Affidavit r		ns for Section 3) ed, notarized and acc	company this application	on)
Check if NO	<b>FAPPLICABLE</b>		(Submit Wage Bo	ond Affidavit to verify y	our exemption)

	APPLICABLE (If applica	ble, fill out informat	tion below and submit your w	age bond and affidavit)
d avaautad	Month	Dav	Voor	

Date bond executed	d:	Month	 Day		Year	
Amount of Bond:	\$			_		

This bond is to cover wages and benefits for

\_\_\_\_\_employees. (Number of Employees)

\* PLEASE TURN TO PAGES (2), (3) AND (4) TO COMPLETE THIS APPLICATION/AFFIDAVIT. DO NOT FORGET TO SIGN YOUR AFFIDAVIT AND HAVE IT NOTARIZED ON PAGE 3.

IF A GENERAL PARTNERSHI	P. LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP	OR LIMITED PARTNERSHIP.

	(Complete the f	ollowing)		
Name of Each Partner	Address		City	State
	IF A CORPOR (Complete the fe	-		
In what state are you incorporated?		When?		
Principal office location:				
	LIST CORPORATE OF	FICERS BELOW		
President >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>	>>>>>>			
Vice President >>>>>	>>>>>>			
	>>>>>>			
Treasurer >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>				
A copy of your Certificate of	Authority from the WV Secreta	ary of State must accompa	any this applicatio	n/affidavit.

### IF A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY OR P.L.L.C.

(Complete the following) (LIST MEMBERS)

A copy of your Certificate of Authority from the WV Secretary of State must accompany this application/affidavit.

#### **VERIFICATION STATEMENT**

The person or firm whose name appears on this application/affidavit certifies compliance with WV Business Registration Tax provisions and is registered and in compliance with Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Compensation and the Wage Bonding Law, if applicable.

The undersigned hereby represent(s) that the forgoing statements and answers are true and correct to the best of his or her knowledge, information and belief.

### IF A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP (INDIVIDUAL) ...

Print or type name of owner here

(Signature of Owner)

### IF A GENERAL PARTNERSHIP, LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP OR A LIMITED PARTNERSHIP ....

Print or type partner name here

(Signature of Partner)

### IF A CORPORATION ....

Print or type name and title here

(Signature of President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Director or CEO)

#### IF A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY OR P.L.L.C. ...

Print or type name of owner here

(Signature of Manager/Member)

#### **AFFIDAVIT**

STATE OF		County of	
	Subscribed and sworn to before me, the unders	signed Notary Public, in and for the St	ate or County
aforesaid this	day of		20——. My Commission

#### \_\_\_\_\_\_ 20\_\_\_\_\_. expires the day of \_

Notary Public

(Date)

(Date)

(Date)

(Date)

### THIS PAGE MUST BE COMPLETED

Please indicate the exam(s) you have passed by placing an X in front of the exam category.

### Contractor License Exams

 Business & Law (Required of all applicants)	
 Concrete Contractor	Residential Contractor
 Electrical Contractor	 Plumbing Contractor
 Excavation Contractor	 Manufactured Home Installation Contractor
 General Building Contractor	 Masonry Contractor
 General Engineering Contractor	Remodeling & Repair Contractor
 Heating, Ventilating & Cooling Contractor	 Sprinkler & Fire Protection Contractor
 Multi-Family Contractor	 Structural Steel Erection Contractor
Piping Contractor	Utilities Contractor (Sewer & Water)

If you are a **Specialty Contractor only**, please describe the type of work your business performs.

Please list the name(s) of the person(s) who passed the examination(s) for your business:

Name:	Last Four Digits of SS #:	Exam Date:
Name:	Last Four Digits of SS #:	Exam Date:
Name:	Last Four Digits of SS #:	Exam Date:
Name:	Last Four Digits of SS #:	Exam Date:

If the person(s) who tested is not an Owner, Partner, Member or Corporate Officer of the company, payroll records must accompany this application/affidavit. The person(s) taking the exam to qualify your company must be a full-time employee at the time of testing and renewal. The person(s) must submit a notarized statement, with this application, allowing the use of his or her test scores to qualify this applicant.

#### PRIVACY NOTICE

The Contractor Licensing Board processes your personal information for appropriate and customary business purposes. Your personal information may be

disclosed to other State agencies or third parties in the normal course of business as needed to comply with State or Federal laws.

## Qualifier Exam Score Acknowledgement

I,				ackno	owledge & confirm
	(Name of Response	ble Management)			
that w	e are requesting				
		(Name of	Person with exam s	cores)	
be allo	owed to use their exam score(s) and becom	e the qualifier of	on our WV Cont	ractor License,	
					(License # or TBD)
for the	e following classifications:		(Exams)		
			(Exams)		
as	a Full-Time Employee:	Responsible	Management:		
	(Name & Title)			(Signature)	
I,		••		acknov	wledge, confirm and
	(Name of Person v	with exam scores)			
grant ]	permission to		(Contractor)		
to use	the following exam score(s):		(Exams)		
			(Exams)		
and be	ecome the qualifier in the capacity as:	a Full-Tim	e Employee:	Responsible	Management:
	(Name & Title)			(Signature)	
		Affidavit			
State of	or Commonwealth		County of		
This is	nstrument was signed or acknowledged be	fore me on	day of		
		1			
My Co	ommission expires the	day of		20	)
			Ν	otary Public Na	me
			Not	ary Public Signa	ature
			1100		

### West Virginia Division of Labor Wage Bond Status Affidavit

Wage & Hour Section 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 200 Charleston, WV 25305



Phone: 304 558 7890 Fax: 304 558 3797 Email: wageandhour@wv.gov http://www.labor.wv.gov

Enter Full Company Name (to include dba) as Registered with the WV State Tax Department

		(	Current Busine	ess Mailing Addr	ess	
Email Address:						
9 Digit FEIN:				Phone #:		
Type of Business: Cons	truction	Mining	Transportati	on of Minerals	Not Applicable *	(attach a scope of work)
Exemptions: Only place	ce an X in 1	L box. (See	back of form	for exemptions th	nat require additional v	verification)
Work performe	d in West	Virginia is	limited to sing	gle family dwellir	ngs and/or family farm	ning enterprises.
Company does	not have a	any emplo	yees working v	within the state o	of West Virginia.	
Company has b	een in bus	iness with	employees in	the state of Wes	st Virginia for a period	of one year. *
Company has b	een in bus	siness in ar	other state fo	or a period of five	e years. *	
Company has \$	100,000.0	0 or more	in available as	sets and would I	ike to claim that as an	exemption. *
Company is a s	ubsidiary o	of a parent	company tha	t has been in bus	siness for more than fi	ve years. *
To claim this	exemption	n, enter th	e name and ad	ldress of the qual	lifying parent company	v below:
Bond Required - Com	panies tha	it do not qi	ualify for one o	of the above exen	nptions must post a wa	age bond with the

Division of Labor for a period of 1 year. To determine the amount of bond required enter the following Information.

1. 4 weeks' payroll in WV @ maximum capacity or production \$\_\_\_\_\_

2. Enter 15% of the amount of line 1.

\$\_\_\_\_\_

Total the amounts on Lines 1 & 2 to determine bond amount.	\$
Enter the number of employees working in WV	

1	

(Print Name of Owner, Partner, LLC Member or Corp Officer)

\_\_\_\_, as \_\_\_\_

(Enter Title)

of the above named business entity understand that it is my responsibility to increase my wage bond whenever my workforce increases and that a failure to maintain an adequate wage bond may result in administrative and/or criminal action.

(Signature of Authorized Representative)	(Enter Date)
Taken, subscribed, and sworn to before me this day of	, 20
(Notary Public Signature)	
My commission expires	

Form WBA1 Revised 5.1.2022

### Wage Bond Status Reporting

A company that's engaged in construction, mining, or the transportation of minerals within the state of West Virginia must register with the Division of Labor concerning its wage bond status. The completion of a "Wage Bond Status Affidavit" allows a company to register with the Division of Labor by claiming a wage bond exemption, or to declare the number of employees working in West Virginia and the amount of bond required.

### Exemptions

Not all companies must post a wage bond. Any company that qualifies for one of the exemptions stated below may claim that exemption by submitting a completed "Status Affidavit". Please note that some exemptions require additional evidence to verify that the company qualifies for the exemption, while others do not. The exemptions listed on the front of the affidavit that may require additional evidence are marked with an asterisk \*.

### Exemptions that DO NOT require additional evidence or verification to qualify include:

- Companies that have been in business in West Virginia, with employees, for a period of at least one (1) year and have reported employee wages to an unemployment account registered with WorkForce West Virginia within that same year.
- Companies that do not have employees physically working in West Virginia.
- Companies that are engaged solely in the construction of single family dwellings and/or family farming enterprises.
- Companies that are a subsidiary of a parent company that is registered with the Division as exempt.
- Out-of-state companies that have maintained one or more of the following licenses or registrations for a period of at least five years.
  - A West Virginia Contractor License.
  - A Business Registration Certificate with the West Virginia State Tax Department.
  - A Corporate Registration with the West Virginia Secretary of State.

### Exemptions that MAY require additional evidence or verification to qualify include:

- Companies that have been in business in another state for 5 years but do not hold any of the above stated registrations or licenses MUST attach evidence to verify business activity within another state.
- Companies that have been working in West Virginia, with employees, for a period of 1 year that do not have a WorkForce West Virginia unemployment account must submit additional evidence to verify employee activity in this state.
- Companies that choose to claim the exemption for \$100,000.00 in available assets MUST submit evidence to support the exemption.

### Industry Specific Determinations/Exemptions

Companies that wish to obtain an opinion from the Division of Labor that the nature of their work does not fall within the definitions of construction, mining, or the transportation of minerals as defined in §21-5-1 may apply for an exemption by completing a Status Affidavit and checking the box titled as: **"Not Applicable**  $\checkmark$  ". All such requests require a complete description or scope of work that's being performed.

### Bond Required

Companies that do not qualify for a wage bond exemption and have employees working in West Virginia must post a wage bond with the Division of Labor in the amount of 4 weeks' payroll, plus an additional 15%, at maximum productivity. A completed Status Affidavit must accompany all new wage bonds submitted.

The Division of Labor processes your personal information for appropriate and customary business purposes. Your personal information may be disclosed to other State agencies or third parties in the normal course of business as needed to comply with State or Federal laws.

WEST VIRGINIA CONTRACTOR LICENSING BOARD

EMAIL: CLBOARD@WV.GOV 🛛 FACSIMILE: (304)558-5174 🔲 OFFICE #: (304)558-7890 🖾 WEBSITE: LABOR.WV.GOV





Business & Law - All applicants are required to pass this exam.

### **Tested Classifications**

Concrete **Electrical Excavation General Building General Engineering** HVAC Manufactured Home Installation (HUD Certified Homes Only) Masonry **Multi-Familv** Piping Plumbing **Remodeling & Repair Residential Sprinkler & Fire Protection Structural Steel Erection Utilities (Water & Sewer Only)** 

**Specialty Contractor** - In order to obtain a license as a "Specialty Contractor," the work cannot substantially fall within the scope of any contractor classification listed above.

See definitions in W.Va. Code §30-42-3 and Legislative Rule 28 CSR 2 in choosing the proper classification(s).

Sincerely,

Jacob Meck Chair