WEST VIRGINIA CHILD LABOR GENERAL REFERENCE GUIDE WV Code Chapter 21, Article 6

West Virginia Division of Labor
Wage & Hour Section
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, State Capitol Complex Building 3, Room 200
Charleston, WV 25305

304.356.3929 / 304.558.7890 <u>www.labor.wv.gov</u> / <u>wageandhour@wv.gov</u> (July 11, 2025)

The purpose of having child labor laws is to provide young adults with the means to enter the workplace in an environment that is safe and conducive to their education. The information contained in this reference guide is intended to provide basic information relating to those requirements.

State child labor laws provide the guidelines for obtaining age certificates, establish the permissible hours of work for 14 & 15 year olds, and define those occupations that are considered hazardous for all minors under the age of 18. Although not intended to address every possible situation, the information supplied in this guide is meant to provide minors, parents, and employers with the basic information needed for a minor to properly enter the workforce.

JURISDICTION & AUTHORITY

Both state and federal law address the employment of minors under 18. However, before state child labor laws can apply, an employment relationship must exist between the minor and an employer. That means casual relationships that involve babysitting, running errands, and mowing grass for family, friends and neighbors are not covered under state child labor requirements.

Whenever both state and federal law apply to a specific area of enforcement such as child labor, the requirements of both laws must be considered to ensure the higher standard of each law is applied. In the case of child labor, applying the higher standard means enforcing the most stringent requirement that relates to the safety and well-being of the minor. In order to ensure state and federal child labor laws are enforced as consistently as possible, the West Virginia Division of Labor has adopted certain federal standards relating to child labor.

In addition to enforcing state and federal standards relating to hazardous and non-hazardous occupations, the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor also has the individual authority to consider any occupation as dangerous or injurious to a minor child based on that minor's job duties and work environment. Such rulings are considered on a case by case basis and may be more restrictive than existing federal standards. §21-6-2(c)

WEST VIRGINIA CHILD LABOR REQUIREMENTS

Child Labor Jurisdiction Requires an Employment Relationship

West Virginia's child labor laws apply to the gainful employment of minors under the age of 18, and to the activities of junior volunteer firefighters. It does not apply to casual work performed for friends and neighbors outside of an employment relationship.

Required Lunch Periods

14 & 15 year old minors that work for a period of five or more hours in any one day must be provided a thirty-minute lunch period. This requirement does not extend to 16 & 17 year olds. §21-6-6(7)

Minors 13 Years of Age and Younger

Minors under the age of 13 are not permitted gainful employment in any capacity unless engaged in acceptable agricultural work as defined by the United States Department of Labor, the work performed involves one of the named exemptions below, or the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor has issued a supervision permit pursuant to the special needs and circumstances of a specific individual. §21-6-1

Exemptions

The following is a list of specific occupations and/or circumstances that are specifically excluded from state child labor requirements. Minors of any age may be gainfully employed in these occupations, or under the circumstances stated, without having to comply with state child labor laws. These activities include:

- Domestic services provided within the residence of the employer.
- Work performed for a parent or legal guardian in their solely owned business, excluding any occupations that have been determined as hazardous.
- Perform as an actor or actress in motion pictures, theatrical, radio or television productions.
- Newspaper delivery.
- Agricultural occupations that have been determined as non-hazardous by the United States Department of Labor.

Whenever applicable, state child labor provisions are applied equally regardless of whether the minor child attends public school, private school, or is homeschooled. Minors wishing to work within the state of West Virginia that reside in other states are also required to comply with the child labor laws of this state.

REQUIREMENTS FOR 14 & 15 YEAR OLDS

PROCEDURES FOR OBTAINING AN AGE CERTIFICATE

Before accepting gainful employment, all 14 & 15 year olds must first obtain an age certificate. Age certificate forms may be obtained directly from the West Virginia Division of Labor's website @www.labor.wv.gov.

The current age certificate form consists of three pages. If an age certificate form is obtained from anywhere other than the Division of Labor's website and the form consists of only one page, you do not have the most current version of the form.

A new age certificate must be obtained each time a 14 or 15-year-old is employed, even when the minor has worked for the same employer in a previous year or term. The same applies whenever the conditions of employment change, such as the type of job duties being performed and/or the type of equipment that's being used.

DETERMINING THE APPROPRIATE PARTY AUTHORIZED TO ISSUE AN AGE CERTIFICATE

Minors Attending Public School in West Virginia

Before accepting gainful employment, all 14 & 15 year olds must submit an application to the Division of Labor. The minor's application must be made using the current age certificate form prescribed by the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor.

Minors Attending Private School

Before accepting gainful employment, all 14 & 15 year olds must submit an application to the the Division of Labor. The minor's application must be made using the current age certificate form prescribed by the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor.

Minors that are Homeschooled

All 14 & 15 year olds that are homeschooled in West Virginia, must apply for an age certificate through the West Virginia Division of Labor, on forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Labor.

Minors that Live Outside of West Virginia

All 14 & 15 year olds that live outside the state of West Virginia, both public and private, must apply for an age certificate through the West Virginia Division of Labor, on forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Labor. Should the Division of Labor refuse to issue the permit on the Commissioner's forms, the minor will not be eligible for employment in West Virginia until he or she reaches the age when an age certificate is no longer required. Those minors residing outside of West Virginia must have the principal or registrar of the school attended to complete Section C of the age certificate form before submitting it to the Division of Labor for issuance. For homeschooled minor's, Section C of the age certificate form may be completed by the individual, parent, or guardian that is responsible for the minor's education.

Age Certificate Forms

On July 1, 2015, all West Virginia child labor forms were revised. The age certificate form was changed at that time to serve as both the application and the permit itself. The most up to date form is currently available from the Division of Labor's websites. It is the responsibility of the minor child, or his or her parent or guardian, to ensure that each section of the form is completed by the appropriate responsible party and is submitted to the appropriate representative of the Division of Labor for issuance. In all cases, the minor may not work until after an age certificate is issued.

Completion of the Age Certificate Form

Each age certificate form consists of three pages. The three pages consist of four different sections that require completion by different parties. None of the sections may be left blank. Any age certificate issued with a section, or a portion of a section, that's left incomplete will result in immediate revocation by the Commissioner of Labor.

The age certificate is to be completed as indicated below, with each section being completed in the order presented on the form. (Section A then B, etc.).

Section A of the age certificate must be completed in its entirety by the employer that intends to hire the minor. A promise of gainful employment is required prior to the minor applying for the permit. All areas of this section must be completed in full by the prospective employer's representative, to include a complete description of tasks and equipment required to perform the job, the intended work schedule showing specific dates and hours, and the assurance that the minor will be provided at least a thirty minute meal break after working five hours.

Section B is to be completed by the minor's parent or guardian. All areas of this section must be completed in full by the parent or guardian giving permission for the minor to be employed. Proof of age in the form of a certified birth certificate, or a copy of a certified birth certificate, must be attached to the application.

Section C is to be completed by the principal or registrar of the school the minor child is attending. If the minor is attending public school in the county where he or she resides, Section C must be completed by the registrar of the school being attended. If the minor attends private school, public school in a county other than where he or she resides, is being homeschooled, or resides outside of the state of West Virginia, please refer to Pages 3 and 4 of this Reference Guide for specific instructions.

Section D is to be completed by the Division of Labor. The Division of Labor is responsible for assuring that Sections A through C have been properly completed by the appropriate parties, that the type of work and hours indicated by the employer are permissible for 14 & 15 year olds and that a certified birth certificate (or copy thereof) was provided with the application.

Issuance of the Age Certificate

If the age certificate application is found to be complete in all areas, relates to acceptable employment for 14 & 15 year olds, and the work schedule stated by the employer complies with the standards for permissible hours of work for 14 & 15 year olds, the Division of Labor may issue the permit by completing Section D of the age certificate form.

Once signed by the Commissioner of Labor, or his or her authorized person, the age certificate is considered issued. The Division of Labor shall retain the original form for his or her own records, while providing a copy to the employer and the minor's parent or guardian. Once the age certificate has been issued and copies provided to all parties, the minor is then free to go to work.

Age Certificate Modifications

If the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person determines that a modification is required relating to the terms of employment stated on the age certificate form to comply with the requirements of state child labor laws, the age certificate may still be issued as long as the required modification is noted in Section D of the age certificate.

Age certificates that are issued with modifications are considered issued once they are signed by the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person. Age certificates issued with noted modifications are considered issued based on the terms and conditions of the modification(s) stated. The Division of Labor shall retain the original age certificate, while providing a copy to the employer and the minor's parent or guardian. Once the age certificate has been issued and copies provided to all parties, the minor is then free to start working. Any modification(s) noted in Section D of an age certificate must be observed and honored by the employer, even if that means the employer no longer wishes to hire the minor under those conditions.

Rejection of Age Certificate

If the age certificate form is found to be incomplete in any way, the minor's work schedule is not compatible with state law, proof of the minor's age was not provided, or the work to be performed is considered hazardous for 14 & 15 year olds, the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person must reject the age certificate. The reason for rejection must be clearly identified in the area provided. In all cases where an age certificate is rejected, the MINOR MAY NOT WORK until such issues are corrected and an age certificate issued.

HOURS OF WORK FOR 14 & 15 YEAR OLDS

The following standards for hours of work apply to 14 & 15 year olds that are engaged in gainful employment. These requirements apply regardless of whether the minor is homeschooled, attending public school, or attending a private school. §21-6-6(a)

The terms "when school is in session", "school day", and "school week" each relate to the period in which public schools are in session for a particular county. That means the standards for permissible hours of work for 14 & 15 year olds may differ from county to county depending upon the school term as established for that county. §42CSR-9 3.24 & §42CSR-9 3.25

On Days and Weeks When Public School is in Session: 14 & 15 Year Olds May Not Work:

- Before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m.
- More than 3 hours on any school day, including Fridays.
- During school hours, except as provided in work experience and career exploration programs on days when school is in session.
- More than 18 hours per week, or more than 23 hours per week when related to a school supervised work-study program, work-based learning program, or a work experience and career exploration (WECEP) program.

On Days and Weeks When Public School is Not in Session: 14 & 15 Year Olds May Not Work:

- Before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. when school is NOT IN SESSION during summer break. (Memorial Day thru Labor Day)
- Before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. on days when the school term is in session but school is not open.
- More than 8 hours per day on days when school is not in session.
- More than 40 hours per week during weeks when school is in not in session OR when school is not open for the entire week during the regular school term.

EXCEPTIONS:

The above stated hours of work do not apply relating to the following circumstances.

- The minor has already graduated from high school.
- The minor has been excused from compulsory school attendance by the state or other jurisdiction once he or she has completed the eighth grade and his or her employment complies with all requirements of the state school attendance laws.
- The minor has a child to support and appropriate state officers have waived school attendance requirements based on provisions of state law.
- The minor is subject to an order of a state or federal court prohibiting him or her from attending school or has been permanently expelled from the local public school he or she would normally attend; unless the minor is required by a state or local law ordinance, or by court order, to attend another school.
- Minors employed to work at sporting events such as baseball, basketball, football, soccer, tennis, etc., to perform duties relating to pre-game and post-game activities.

OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS FOR 14 & 15 YEAR OLDS

As a general rule, the following occupations have been determined as acceptable for 14 & 15-year-old minors in the state of West Virginia. The list is compiled from the requirements of state child labor laws and regulations, adopted federal child labor regulations, and individual determinations issued by the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor.

As the laws relating to the employment of minors within this age group are very strict in nature, any occupation or job duty that does not appear in the following list of permissible occupations for 14 & 15 year olds should be cleared as permissible with the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor before applying for an age certificate. Such inquiries may be submitted to the Commissioner of Labor using the following email address: wageandhour@wv.gov.

Permissible Occupations (Non-Agricultural)

- 1. OFFICE WORK (CLERICAL & SALES) Clerical and sales work performed in an office environment is permissible as long as such work is not performed on a construction site, on transportation media, or on an actual means of transportation. The use of standard office equipment is permitted.
- 2. INTELLECTUAL WORK Computer programming, writing software, teaching, tutoring, or serving as a teacher's aide or assistant.
- 3. ARTISTIC WORK & MODELING Singing, playing a musical instrument, drawing, and modeling are permissible when related to a recognized field of artistic or creative endeavor.
- 4. ADVERTISING Selling, modeling, art work, working in advertising departments, window trimming (decorating), and comparative shopping.
- 5. CASHIERING, PRICE MARKING, TAGGING & SHELF STOCKING Price marking may be performed by hand or machine. May assemble customer orders and stock shelves when the use of a ladder is not required.
- 6. BAGGING & CARRY OUT May bag and carry out customer orders and grocery purchases.
- 7. ERRANDS AND DELIVERIES May run errands and make deliveries by foot, bicycle, and public transportation only.
- 8. CLEAN UP OF FLOORS AND SURFACES May use vacuum cleaners and floor waxers in areas permissible for 14 & 15 year olds.

9. KITCHEN WORK – May perform work involved in the preparation and serving of food and beverages (other than alcohol) including the operation of dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn poppers, milk shake blenders, waffle irons, coffee grinders, automatic coffee machines (including cappuccino and expresso machines), cotton candy machines, snow cone machines, and Italian ice machines.

OTHER PERMITTED KITCHEN ACTIVITIES INCLUDE:

- a. FOOD WARMING DEVICES May use microwave ovens, food warmers, steam tables, and heat lamps that do not have the capacity to warm above 140 degrees Fahrenheit are also permissible.
- b. CLEANING FRUITS & VEGETABLES May clean fruits and vegetables using a handheld kitchen knife meant for that purpose. The use of electric knives or knives used for the cutting or boning of meat are not permissible.
- c. CLEANING OF EQUIPMENT May clean non-power-driven equipment or other equipment not specifically prohibited for use by this age group.
- d. CLEANING OF SURFACES May clean kitchen surfaces and floors including the use of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers.
- e. COOKING May cook using gas and electric grills with a solid slab surface that does not allow for an open flame.
- f. DISPOSAL OF GREASE AND/OR OIL May remove oil or grease filters, pour oil or grease through filters, and move receptacles containing hot grease or oil, but only when equipment, surfaces, containers and liquids do not exceed 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
- g. TOASTER OVENS May use warmer ovens and microwave ovens that do not have the capacity to heat above 140 degrees Fahrenheit. Power driven ovens or baking ovens may not be used.
- h. FREEZERS May enter a freezer momentarily for the sole purpose of retrieving items in conjunction with the restocking of supplies or food preparation only. No work is to be performed while inside the freezer.
- 10. PUMP GAS, WASH OR POLISH CARS AND TRUCKS. May not repair cars, use lifting racks or work in pits.
- 11. LOAD AND UNLOAD HAND TOOLS AND PERSONAL EQUIPMENT FROM MOTOR VEHICLES USED PERSONALLY BY THE MINOR.
- 12. SERVE AS A LIFEGUARD & GIVE SWIMMING LESSONS This occupation is limited to 15-year-olds only and is permissible at traditional swimming pools and water amusement parks such as wave pools, lazy rivers, etc. when properly trained and certified in aquatics and water safety by the American Red Cross or a similar certifying organization. For the purpose of giving swimming lessons, the minor must obtain additional certification as a

swimming instructor. Permissible duties include the use of a ladder to access and descend from the lifeguard chair, the use of hand tools to clean the pool and pool area, and the testing and recording of water quality for temperature and/or PH levels; however, may not enter or work in any mechanical room or chemical storage areas where filtration and chlorinating systems are housed. 14-year-olds may not serve in any capacity as a lifeguard or swimming instructor, nor may minors under the age of 16 be employed as a lifeguard at a natural environment such as an oceanside beach, lake, pond, quarry, or pier.

REQUIREMENTS FOR 16 & 17 YEAR OLDS

AGE CERTIFICATES

Unlike age certificates for 14 & 15 year-olds, age certificates for 16 & 17 year-olds are not a requirement of law unless directly related to junior volunteer firefighting activities. The sole purpose for an age certificate is to provide employers with the opportunity to request verification from the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person of the minor's true age. The issuance of an age certificate for a 16 or 17 year old does not require parental consent nor evidence that the minor is attending school, just a written request from an employer for proof of the minor's age and copy of the minor's certified birth certificate. Although employers have the individual right to require an age certificate before choosing to hire a 16 or 17 year-old minor, age certificates are not considered a general condition of employment.

Break & Lunch Periods

Unlike 14 & 15 year olds that require a full thirty minute break period after five hours of work, minors of this age group are not subject to the same requirements. Minors that are 16 years of age and older are subject to the same break and/or lunch requirements that are provided to adults.

Age Certificate Forms

Current and approved age certificate forms may be obtained directly from the West Virginia Division of Labor's website @ www.labor.wv.gov or from your local County Board of Education. Authorized individuals within public or private schools should also be able to supply the necessary forms.

Determining the Appropriate Party to Issue the Age Certificate

<u>All</u> age certificates are issued by the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person.

Minors of this age group that are being homeschooled must obtain an age certificate from the Division of Labor.

Minors Residing Outside of West Virginia

Minors residing outside of West Virginia must obtain an age certificate through the West Virginia Division of Labor prescribed by the Commissioner of the Division of Labor. Should the county superintendent of schools from another state refuse to issue the certificate on the Commissioner's forms, the minor will not be eligible for employment in West Virginia when such employment is contingent upon the issuance of an age certificate.

Completion of the Age Certificate Form

The prospective employer has the option of submitting a separate written request to the issuer of permits for proof of the minor's age, or to enter their business name, the name of the minor child they intend to employ and a description of the minor's intended work duties on a certificate of age form. Minors are responsible for taking the employer's written request to the proper authority for issuance of the certificate of age. As parental consent is not required for age certificates, it is the minor's responsibility to provide a certified birth certificate, or a copy of a certified birth certificate, as proof of his or her age to the issuing officer.

Issuance of the Age Certificate

Upon receipt of a written request for proof of age from an employer, the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person is responsible for: 1. The proper completion of the certificate of age form. 2. Verifying that the minor has provided proof of his or her age in the form of a certified birth certificate, or a copy of a certified birth certificate. 3. That the type of work listed by the employer is not considered hazardous for 16 & 17 year olds. Once it is determined that all three requirements are met, the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person will issue the age certificate by completing and signing the form. The Division of Labor shall retain the original age certificate while providing a copy to the employer and the minor.

Rejection/Non-Issuance of an Age Certificate

If the minor does not provide the required proof of age, the issuing officer cannot issue the certificate. Other than those 16 & 17 year olds required to obtain an age certificate before registering as a junior volunteer firefighter, the decision to require, or not to require, an age

certificate as a condition of employment for 16 & 17 year olds is left to the discretion of the employer.

PERMISSIBLE HOURS OF WORK FOR 16 & 17 YEAR OLDS

Even when still attending school, 16 & 17 year olds are not restricted in any way relating to the number of hours they may be required to work, or when they are required to work. They are permitted to work the same hours as an adult.

OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS FOR 16 & 17 YEAR OLDS

Permissible & Non-Permissible Occupations

16 & 17 year olds are permitted a lot more flexibility than 14 & 15 year olds when it comes to permissible occupations and the use of equipment and/or tools, but some restrictions still apply. The United States Department of Labor has defined the following 17 specific occupations as hazardous for all minors under the age of 18. Therefore, work performed by minors relating to the following occupations is strictly prohibited. See Child Labor Fact Sheet # 4

17 HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS UNDER THE AGE OF 18

- HO 1. Manufacturing or storing explosives Bans minors working where explosives are manufactured or stored, but permits work in retail stores selling ammunition, gun shops, trap and skeet ranges, and police stations.
- HO 2. Driving a motor vehicle or work as an outside helper on motor vehicles Bans operating motor vehicles on public roads and working as outside helpers on motor vehicles, except 17-year-olds may drive cars or small trucks during daylight hours for limited times and under strictly limited circumstances
- HO 3. Coal mining Bans most jobs in coal mining.
- HO 4. Occupations in forest fire fighting, forest fire prevention, timber tract, forestry service, and occupations in logging and sawmilling operations— Bans most jobs in: forest fire fighting; forest fire prevention that entails extinguishing an actual fire; timber tract management; forestry services; logging; and sawmills.
- HO 5. Power-driven woodworking machines Bans the operation of most power-driven woodworking machines, including chain saws, nailing machines, and sanders.*-
- HO 6. Exposure to radioactive substances and ionizing radiation Bans employment of minors where they are exposed to radioactive materials. .*
- HO 7. Power-driven hoisting apparatus Bans operating, riding on, and assisting in the operation of most power-driven hoisting apparatus such as forklifts, non-automatic elevators, skid-steers, skid-

steer loaders, backhoes, manlifts, scissor lifts, cherry pickers, work-assist platforms, boom trucks, and cranes. Does not apply to chair-lifts at ski resorts or electric and pneumatic lifts used to raise cars in garages and gasoline service stations.

- HO 8. Power-driven metal-forming, punching and shearing machines Bans the operation of certain power-driven metal-working machines but permits the use of most machine tools.
- HO 9. Mining, other than coal Bans most jobs in mining at metal mines, quarries, aggregate mines, and other mining sites including underground work in mines, work in or about open cut mines, open quarries, and sand and gravel operations.
- HO 10. Power-driven meat-processing machines, slaughtering and meat packing plants Bans the operation of power-driven meat processing machines, such as meat slicers, saws and meat choppers, wherever used (including restaurants and delicatessens). Also prohibits minors from cleaning such equipment, including the hand-washing of the disassembled machine parts. This ban also includes the use of this machinery on items other than meat, such as cheese and vegetables. HO 10 also bans most jobs in meat and poultry slaughtering, processing, rendering, and packing establishments.
- HO 11. Power-driven bakery machines Bans the operation of power-driven bakery machines such as vertical dough and batter mixers; dough rollers, rounders, dividers, and sheeters; and cookie or cracker machines. Permits 16 & 17 year olds to operate certain lightweight, small, portable, counter-top mixers and certain pizza dough rollers under certain conditions.
- HO 12. Balers, compactors, and power-driven paper-products machines Bans the operation of all compactors and balers and certain power-driven paper products machines such as platen-type printing presses and envelope die cutting presses. 16 & 17 year olds may load, but not operate or unload, certain <u>scrap paper balers</u> and <u>paper box compactors</u> under very specific guidelines.
- HO 13. Manufacturing of brick, tile and related products Bans most jobs in the manufacture of brick, tile and similar products.
- HO 14. Power-driven circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears, chain saws, reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive cutting discs Bans the operation of, and working as a helper on, the named types of power-driven equipment, no matter what kind of items are being cut by the equipment.
- HO 15. Wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations Bans most jobs in wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations, but does not apply to remodeling or repair work which is not extensive.
- HO 16. Roofing operations and work performed on or about a roof Bans most jobs in roofing operations, including work performed on the ground and removal of the old roof, and all work on or about a roof.
- HO 17. Trenching and excavation operations Bans most jobs in trenching and excavation work, including working in a trench more than four feet deep.

Additional Restrictions

In addition to the previously stated hazardous occupations, no minor under the age of 18 may be employed or permitted to work:

- In a bar, or be permitted, employed or suffered to sell, dispense or serve alcoholic beverages in any place where the consumption of alcoholic beverages is permitted by law
- In any occupation individually determined by the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor as dangerous or injurious.

JUNIOR VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTERS

A 16 or 17-year-old may serve as a junior volunteer firemen after either enrolling in, participating in, or completing the minimum training requirements of the WV State Fire Commission, WV Department of Education Public Service Training, the WVU Fire Service Extension Program, or equivalent program; has obtained the consent of his or her parent or guardian to register as a junior volunteer firefighter; and has obtained an age certificate from the Commissioner of Labor or his or her authorized person. See Child Labor Fact Sheet # 7

SUPERVISION PERMITS

The Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor is authorized to issue supervision permits to address the special needs and circumstances of a minor's employment that would otherwise not be permitted. Such permits are only issued when a minor can demonstrate good cause for employment based on the best interest of the minor child.

See Child Labor Fact Sheet # 5

Effective July 11, 2025, <u>ALL</u> age certificates are processed and issued by the Commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Labor or his or her authorized person. <u>No exceptions</u>