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West Virginia Jobs Act 

Contractor’s and Subcontractor’s Responsibilities 
A contractor or subcontractor working on a public authority’s construction project with a total cost 
of $500,000.00 or more that is funded entirely with public funds, excluding improvements funded 
in whole or in part by federal funds, must comply with the following West Virginia Jobs Act 
requirements.  

1. Hire at least 75% of employees from the local labor market, with two (2) employees 
permitted from outside the local labor market. 

 
• The local labor market includes every West Virginia county and any county 
outside of West Virginia if any portion of that county is within fifty (50) miles of 
the border of West Virginia. 

• An employee’s primary residence must be located within the local labor market 
to comply with the Jobs Act requirements. 

2. Contact the nearest WorkForce West Virginia office and complete a job order if you 
are unable to employ the minimum number of employees from the local labor market.  
 

• WorkForce will either refer qualified job applicants or issue a written waiver 
permitting the employer to fill any positions covered by the waiver from outside 
the local labor market.    

 
3. Complete and submit certified payroll or other comparable documents on a weekly 

basis to the public authority and/or Division of Labor that include at least: 
 

The name and address of the employer, identification of the payroll number and the 
work week ending date, the name of the project location, identification of the 
contract number, the names of employees, each employee’s work classification or 
job title, physical address of the primary residence for each employee, 
including the county and the days worked.  
 
Pursuant to §21-1-3 and §21-1C-5 you may be required to supplement this 
information upon request.  
 

4. Pay civil penalties of between $250 to $500 per day for each employee needed to meet 
the 75% requirement. 

If you have additional questions, please contact the Division of Labor or send your inquiries to 
JobsAct@wv.gov.  
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