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West Virginia Division of Labor 

Wage & Hour Section 

Minimum Wage Fact Sheet 1 - West Virginia Code Chapter 21, Article 5C   
(July 2016)  

WEST VIRGINIA MINIMUM WAGE REQUIREMENTS 
 

As of January 1, 2016, every employer shall pay to each of his or her covered employees 

a minimum hourly wage of not less than $8.75 per hour. §21-5C-2(a)(5) 

When does it apply:  When an employer has six or more non-exempt employees 

working at any separate, distinct, and permanent work location in 

West Virginia. 

Who does it apply to: To all non-exempt (hourly) employees working at any separate, 

distinct, and permanent work location where the employer has 

the required six or more non-exempt employees needed to 

establish state minimum wage jurisdiction. 

EXEMPT VERSUS NON-EXEMPT WORKERS 

When indicating an employee is exempt or non-exempt, you’re actually stating whether that 

individual is exempt from, or covered by, state and/or federal minimum wage requirements.  

Once determined as exempt, such workers may receive a regular salary amount without 

consideration of state minimum wage requirements.   However, those employees that are 

determined as non-exempt are considered hourly workers and entitled to receive the state 

minimum wage for all hours worked.  

Determining a Worker’s Exempt or Non-exempt Status 

West Virginia’s Minimum Wage & Maximum Hour Standards identify several categories of 

workers as exempt from the state minimum wage by excluding them from the definition of a 

covered “employee” as defined in §21-5C(1)(f)(1) as follows:       

A covered employee does not include individuals employed by the United States; volunteers 

involved in educational, charitable, religious, fraternal or nonprofit activities where the 

employee/employer relationship does not exist; newsboys; shoeshine boys; golf caddies; pin-

boys and pin chasers in bowling alleys; traveling salesmen and outside salesmen; services 

performed by an individual in the employ of his or her parent, son, daughter or spouse; 

professional, executive or administrative employees; individuals involved in on-the-job training 

(vocational); a handicapped individual working in a nonprofit sheltered workshop; individuals 

working in a boys or girls summer camp; any person 62 years of age or older receiving social 

security benefits; agricultural workers; state employed fire fighters; ushers in theaters; part time 

students working 24 hours or less; employees of local interurban motorbus carriers; any 

employee under federal DOT regulations; and those employed on a per diem basis by the West 

Virginia State Senate, House of Delegates, or the Joint Committee on Government and Finance.  
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Administrative, Executive, and Professional Exemptions 

Unlike the other categories of employee exemptions, in order to claim the administrative, 

executive, and professional exemptions other conditions must be met.  One of those conditions 

includes a minimum salary amount.  See Minimum Wage Fact Sheets 4, 5, and 6.  

STATE VERSUS FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE REQUIREMENTS  

As the state minimum wage requirement is currently higher than the federal, any employee that is 

determined as being covered by both the state and federal minimum wage is entitled to payment of the 

state minimum wage.  Since the state requirement is set by law to automatically increase along with any 

federal increase that may occur in the future, West Virginia’s minimum wage requirement will always 

remain equal to, or higher than, the federal minimum wage.  


