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WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR 

WAGE BOND REQUIREMENTS 
  

As required by §21-5-14 of the West Virginia Wage Payment & Collection Act, all companies engaged in 

construction, mining, or the transportation of minerals within the state of West Virginia must register 

with the Division of Labor relating to state wage bond requirements. 

EXEMPTIONS 

There are several exemptions that will relieve a company from the requirement to post a wage bond.  

A company qualifying for such an exemption will not be required to post a wage bond once the 

exemption is reported to the Division of Labor.  The exemption is reported using the Wage Bond Status 

Affidavit (Form WBA1), which is provided in this packet.  

EXEMPTIONS 

NOTE: Exemptions marked with an asterisk (*) may require additional supporting documentation.  

• The Company’s work is limited to the construction of single family dwellings and/or family farming 

enterprises.  

• The Company does not have employees working within the state of West Virginia.   

• The Company has been in business, with employees, in the state of West Virginia for a period of at 

least one year. *  

• The Company has been in business in another state for a period of five years. * 

• The Company has $100,000.00 or more in available assets.*  

• The Company is a subsidiary of a parent company that has been in business for more than five years. 

* 

WAGE BOND REQUIREMENTS 

Any company that has employees working in the state of West Virginia that does not qualify for one of 

the above exemptions must post a wage bond with the Division of Labor for a period of up to one year.    

To calculate the amount of bond needed, companies must determine their gross payroll amount for a 

period of 4 weeks in West Virginia at maximum capacity or production.  Once the 4 week payroll amount 

is established, an additional fifteen percent of that amount must be added to determine the amount of 

bond required.  

See example calculation below:  NOTE: Out-of-state companies determine the amount of wage bond required by 

entering the amount of their West Virginia payroll only.   

1. 4 weeks’ payroll in WV @ maximum capacity or production.  $ 10,000.00  

2. Enter 15% of the amount entered above.                         $    1,500.00  

               Total the amounts on Lines 1 & 2 to determine bond amount.      $ 11,150.00 BOND AMOUNT REQUIRED  
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TYPES OF WAGE BONDS ACCEPTED 
 

The Division of Labor accepts four types (or methods) of bonding, which are explained below.  All 

bonds must be issued on a form prescribed by the Commissioner of Labor, all of which are provided in 

this packet.  If needed, additional forms are also available from the Division of Labor’s website.   
 

Acceptable Bond Types:  

1. Checks / Money Orders / Cash.  

2. Irrevocable Letters of Credit. 

3. Certificates of Deposit. 

4. Surety Bonds.  

 

Checks / Money Orders / Cash   

 

Wage bonds posted in the form of a check, money order, or cash will either be deposited into an interest 

bearing, or non-interest bearing, account. The type of account that will apply is determined by the type of 

forms provided by the company. Cash bonds submitted with a Request to Invest form will be deposited into 

an interest bearing account in the State Treasury.  Cash bonds submitted with only an Owner’s 

Acknowledgment Form will be deposited into a non-interest bearing escrow account with the Division of 

Labor. The required forms for each type of account are listed below:  

 

Interest Bearing Accounts:     Non-interest Bearing Accounts 

Request to Invest Form     Owner Acknowlegement Form 

W-9 Form       W-9 Form 

Wage Bond Status Affidavit    Wage Bond Status Affidavit 

 

Irrevocable Letters of Credit 

All letters of credit must be issued by a United States Bank insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance 

Corporation (FDIC), or a credit union insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA).  The 

required forms are listed below:  

 

Letter of Credit Form/ Employer Authorization (4 pages including employer authorization) 

Wage Bond Status Affidavit     

 

Cerificates of Deposit 

Certificates of Deposit must be issued by a United States Bank insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance 

Corporation (FDIC), or a credit union insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), which is 

physically located within the state of West Virginia.  All certificates of deposit must also be automatically 

renewable. §42CSR 33-5.2.1, §42CSR 33-5.2.2, §42CSR 33-5.2.3  The required forms are listed below:  

Certificate of Deposit Form / Includes Bank and Employer Authorization Pages 

Wage Bond Status Affidavit 
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Surety Bonds 

 

Surety bonds may be issued by any insurance company licensed by the Office of the West Virginia Insurance 

Commission.  When issued, the bond must carry a guarantee by the surety provider that it will not be 

cancelled or withdrawn without first providing 60 days’ notice to the Commissioner of Labor. §42CSR 33-

5.4.1, §42CSR 33-5.4.2   

 

NOTE: There are two different types of surety bond forms, one for sole proprietorships and partnerships, 

and another for corporations, LLCs, and LLPs.  Please make sure to use the form that matches your 

business structure. The required forms are listed below:  

 

Surety Bond Form for Sole Proprietors and Partnerships, including Owner Authorization Form  

Surety Bond Form for Corporations, LLCs, and LLPs, including Owner Authorization Form 

Wage Bond Status Affidavit 

 

 

NOTICE TO COMPANIES ISSUED A  

WAGE BOND CEASE & DESIST ORDER 

 

IF YOUR COMPANY HAS BEEN ISSUED A CEASE & DESIST ORDER, YOU MUST ACHIEVE COMPLIANCE PRIOR 

TO THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE ORDER.   

Compliance is achieved as follows:  

1. Post a wage bond adequate to cover four weeks payroll in WV, plus an additional 15%.  

2. Report a qualifying exemption to the Division of Labor. 

  

As it may take several days to secure a new wage bond, companies should address the matter of obtaining a 

wage bond, or a wage bond exemption, as soon as the cease and desist order is issued to avoid a possible work 

stoppage. The Wage & Hour Section of the Division of Labor is available to answer questions relating to wage 

bond compliance 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. each business day.  Contact information is as follows:      

 
West Virginia Division of Labor 

Wage & Hour Section  

1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, State Capitol Complex 

Building 3, Room 200, Charleston, WV 25305 

Phone:  304 356 3930 / 304 558 7890 

Fax:   304 558 3797 

Email:  wageandhour@wv.gov  
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West Virginia Wage Bond Requirements   

$100,000.00 Asset Exemption 
 

As of July 7, 2017, companies that hold at least $100,000.00 in available assets may apply to the West Virginia 

Division of Labor for a wage bond exemption.  To claim the exemption, a company must submit a completed 

Wage Bond Status Affidavit along with a separate statement supporting the value of its assets.     

Supporting Information – To qualify for the exemption, a company must also provide an additional statement 

to the Division of Labor summarizing the value of its assets.  As this type of information is available on balance 

sheets and financial statement summaries, companies that have this information readily available may simply 

provide a copy with their completed status affidavit. Companies that do not have access to that type of 

information may provide a list of specific assets that include a current value and the amount of indebtedness, if 

any, for each item.  No specific format is required as long as all of the necessary information is provided. Full 

financial statements are not required, nor requested.  

Acceptable Assets – Tangible property such as inventory, vehicles, equipment, machinery, real estate, buildings, 

accounts receivable, and cash accounts, etc., which are owned by the company requesting the exemption, 

qualify as assets. Intangible property that cannot be physically touched such as patents or a company’s goodwill 

and reputation are not acceptable, nor are wage bonds already on file with the Division of Labor.    

 

Available Assets  -  When an item is valued at $100,000.00 but also serves as collateral on a loan, both the 

current value and the amount of indebtedness must be considered. For example, an item valued at $100,000.00 

that also serves as collateral on a loan with a balance of $50,000.00 would have an available asset value of 

$50,000.00.  

Reporting Available Assets –  To qualify for the exemption, a company must report a total of at least 

$100,000.00 in available assets.       

• Companies that have access to a current financial statement summary or balance sheet that reflects 

total assets and liabilities may simply provide a copy of that information along with their completed 

status affidavit.      

• Companies that do not have a financial statement summary or balance sheet may claim the exemption 

by providing the Division of Labor with a list of assets.  When reporting assets in this manner, the 

company must list the current value of each item as well as the amount of indebtedness for that item 

should it serve as collateral on a loan.  

Item Description - Value $100,000.00 / Loan Amt. (Liability) $50,000.00 = $50,000.00 Available Asset Value 
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EMPLOYER’S BOND FOR WAGES & BENEFITS 

§21-5-14(a) Bond required. -- With the exception of those who have been doing business in this state actively and actually 

engaged in construction work, or the severance, production or transportation of minerals for at least one year next 

preceding the posting of the bond required by this section, every employer, person, firm or corporation engaged in or 

about to engage in construction work, or the severance, production or transportation (excluding railroads and water 

transporters) of minerals, shall, prior to engaging in any construction work, or the severance, production or transportation 

of minerals, furnish a bond on a form prescribed by the commissioner, payable to the state of West Virginia, with the 

condition that the person, firm or corporation pay the wages and fringe benefits of his or its employees when due. The 

amount of the bond shall be equal to the total of the employer's gross payroll for four weeks at full capacity or production, 

plus fifteen percent of the said total of employer's gross payroll for four weeks at full capacity or production. The amount 

of the bond shall increase or decrease as the employer's payroll increases or decreases: Provided, that the amount of the 

bond shall not be decreased, except with the commissioner's approval and determination that there are not outstanding 

claims against the bond.  Provided, however, that if the employer, person, firm or corporation meets one of the following, 

then such employer, person, firm or corporation shall be exempt rom the requirements of this subsection.  

1. Has been in business in another state for at least five years. 

2. Has at least $100,000.00 in assets; or 

3. Is a subsidiary of a parent company that has been in business for at least five years.  

(b) Waiver. -- The commissioner shall waive the posting of any bond required by subsection (a) of this section upon his 

determination that an employer is of sufficient financial responsibility to pay wages and fringe benefits. The commissioner 

shall promulgate rules and regulations according to the provisions of chapter twenty-nine-a of this code which prescribe 

standards for the granting of such waivers.  

(c) Form of bond; filing in office of circuit clerk. -- The bond may include, with the approval of the commissioner, surety 

bonding, collateral bonding (including cash and securities), letters of credit, establishment of an escrow account or a 

combination of these methods. The commissioner shall accept an irrevocable letter of credit in lieu of any other bonding 

requirement. If collateral bonding is used, the employer may deposit cash, or collateral securities or certificates as follows: 

Bonds of the United States or its possessions, or of the federal land bank, or of the homeowner's loan corporation; full 

faith and credit general obligation bonds of the state of West Virginia or other states, and of any county, district or 

municipality of the state of West Virginia or other states; or certificates of deposit in a bank in this state, which certificates 

shall be in favor of the state. The cash deposit or market value of such securities or certificates shall be equal to or greater 

than the sum of the bond. The commissioner shall, upon receipt of any such deposit of cash, securities or certificates, 

promptly place the same with the state treasurer whose duty it shall be to receive and hold the same in the name of the 

state in trust for the purpose for which such deposit is made. The employer making the deposit shall be entitled from time 

to time to receive from the state treasurer, upon the written approval of the commissioner, the whole or any portion of 

any cash, securities or certificates so deposited, upon depositing with him in lieu thereof, cash or other securities or 

certificates of the classes herein specified having value equal to or greater than the sum of the bond. The commissioner 

shall cause a copy of the bond to be filed in the office of the clerk of the county commission of the county wherein the 

person, firm or corporation is doing business to be available for public inspection.  

(d) Employee cause of action. -- Notwithstanding any other provision in this article, any employee, whose wages and 

fringe benefits are secured by the bond, as specified in subsection (c) of this section, has a direct cause of action against 

the bond for wages and fringe benefits that are due and unpaid. 

(e) Action of commissioner. -- Any employee having wages and fringe benefits unpaid may inform the commissioner of 

the claim for unpaid wages and fringe benefits and request certification thereof. If the commissioner, upon notice to the 

employer and investigation,finds that such wages and fringe benefits or a portion thereof are unpaid, he shall make 

demand of such employer for the payment of such wages and fringe benefits. If payment for such wages and fringe 

benefits is not forthcoming within the time specified by the commissioner, not to exceed thirty days, the commissioner 
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shall certify such claim or portion thereof, and forward the certification to the bonding company or the state treasurer, 

who shall provide payment to the affected employee within fourteen days of receipt of such certification. The bonding 

company, or any person, firm or corporation posting a bond, thereafter shall have the right to proceed against a defaulting 

employer for that part of the claim the employee paid. The procedure specified herein shall not be construed to preclude 

other actions by the commissioner or employee to seek enforcement of the provisions of this article by any civil 

proceedings for the payment of wages and fringe benefits or by criminal proceedings as may be determined appropriate.  

(f) Posting and reporting by employer. -- With the exception of those exempt under subsection (a) of this section, any 

employer who is engaged in construction work or the severance, production or transportation (excluding railroad and 

water transporters) of minerals shall post the following in a place accessible to his or its employees: 

(1) A copy of the bond or other evidence of surety specifying the number of employees covered as provided under 

subsection (a) of this section, or notification that the posting of a bond has been waived by the commissioner; and  

(2) A copy of the notice in the form prescribed by the commissioner regarding the duties of employers under this section. 

During the first year that any person, firm or corporation is doing business in this state in construction work, or in the 

severance, production or transportation of minerals, such person, firm or corporation shall on or before the first day of 

February, May, August and November of each calendar year file with the department a verified statement of the number 

of employees, or a copy of the quarterly report filed with the bureau of employment programs showing the accurate 

number of employees, unless the commissioner waives the filing of the report upon his determination that the person, 

firm or corporation is of sufficient stability that the reporting is unnecessary. 

g) Termination of bond. -- The bond may be terminated, with the approval of the commissioner, after an employer submits 

a statement, under oath or affirmation lawfully administered, to the commissioner that the following has occurred: The 

employer has ceased doing business and all wages and fringe benefits have been paid, or the employer has been doing 

business in this state for at least five consecutive years and has paid all wages and fringe benefits. The approval of the 

commissioner will be granted only after the commissioner has determined that the wages and fringe benefits of all 

employees have been paid. The bond may also be terminated upon a determination by the commissioner that an employer 

is of sufficient financial responsibility to pay wages and fringe benefits.  

§21-5-14a. Insufficiency of bond; manner of distribution.  

In the event that the claim of any employee or group of employees having wages and fringe benefits unpaid is in an 

amount in excess of the bond required in section fourteen of this article, the manner of distribution and order of priority 

of claims shall be as follows: Unpaid wages; unpaid fringe benefits; damages or expenses incurred or arising out of actual 

injury: Provided, That nothing contained in this section shall be construed so as to limit any other cause of action against 

any person, firm or corporation. 

§21-5-15. Violations; cease and desist orders and appeals therefrom; criminal penalties.  

(a) Any person, firm or corporation who knowingly and willfully fails to provide and maintain an adequate bond as 

required by section fourteen of this article is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not 

less than five thousand dollars nor more than $60,000.00, or imprisoned in the state correctional facility not more than 

one month, or both fined and imprisoned.  

(b) Any person, firm or corporation who knowingly, willfully and fraudulently disposes of or relocates assets with intent 

to deprive employees of their wages and fringe benefits is guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined 

not less than five thousand dollars nor more than thirty thousand dollars, or imprisoned in the penitentiary not less than 

one nor more than three years, or both fined and imprisoned. 

c) (1) At any time the commissioner determines that a person, firm or corporation has not provided or maintained an 

adequate bond, as required by section fourteen of this article, the commissioner shall issue a cease and desist order which 

is to be issued and posted requiring that said person, firm or corporation either post an adequate bond or cease further 

operations in this state within a period specified by the commissioner; which period shall be not less than five nor more 

than fourteen days. The cease and desist order may be issued by the commissioner at his own instance or at his direction, 

with or without application to or the approval of any other officer, agent, department or employee of the state or 
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application to any court for approval thereof. Any person, firm or corporation who continues to engage in construction 

work or the severance, production or transportation of minerals without an approved bond after such specified period 

shall be guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than five thousand dollars nor more than 

thirty thousand dollars, or imprisoned in the penitentiary not less than one nor more than three years, or both fined and 

imprisoned. Any cease and desist order issued by the commissioner pursuant to this subsection may be directed by the 

commissioner to the sheriff of the county wherein the business activity of which the order is the subject, or to any officer 

or employee of the department, commanding such sheriff, officer or employee to serve such order upon the business in 

question within seventy-two hours and to make proper return thereof. 

(2) Any other provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, any person against whom a cease and desist order has 

been directed shall be entitled to judicial review thereof by filing a verified petition taking an appeal therefrom within 

fifteen days from the date of service of such order. Such verified petition shall be filed in the circuit court of the county 

wherein service of the order was completed, at the option of the petitioner, or, in the circuit court of Kanawha County, 

West Virginia. If the appeal is not perfected within such fifteen day period, the cease and desist order shall be final and 

shall not thereafter be subject to judicial review. No appeal shall be deemed to have been perfected except upon the filing 

with the clerk of the circuit court of the county wherein the appeal is taken, of a bond or other security to be approved by 

the court, in an amount of not less than the amount of the bond otherwise required to be posted under the provisions of 

section fourteen of this article. The person so filing a petition of appeal shall cause a copy of the petition and bond or 

other posted security to be served upon the commissioner by certified mail, return receipt requested, within seven days 

after the date upon which the petition for appeal is filed. 

d) Any person who threatens any officer, agent or employee of the department or other person authorized to assist the 

commissioner in the performance of his duties under any provision of section fourteen of this article or of this section or 

who shall interfere with or attempt to prevent any such officer, agent, employee or other person in the performance of 

such duties shall be guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined in an amount of not less than one 

thousand dollars nor more than three thousand dollars or imprisoned in the penitentiary not less than one nor more than 

three years, or both such fine and imprisonment. 

§21-5-16. Contractors and subcontractors to notify commissioner.  

Whenever a person, firm or corporation (hereinafter referred to in this section as "the prime contractor") contracts or 

subcontracts with an employer and such contract or subcontract contemplates the performance of either construction 

work or the severance, production or transportation (excluding railroads or water transporters) of minerals or any 

combination of the foregoing, then the prime contractor shall, within ten days next following the execution of such 

contract or subcontract, notify the commissioner in writing by certified mail, return receipt requested, of such contract, 

which notice shall include the employer's name, the location of the job site and the employer's principal business 

location: Provided, That if it is ascertained by the prime contractor from the commissioner that the commissioner has 

obtained the information required to be included in such notice from another agency of this state, then the filing of such 

notice by the prime contractor shall not be required. If the prime contractor is a firm, corporation or association, then 

any and all of the officers of such firm, corporation or association shall be responsible to see to the proper notification 

required by this section. If any prime contractor fails to give the notice required by this section when required to do so, 

such prime contractor is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than five hundred 

dollars nor more than five thousand dollars.  

 

§21-5-1. Definitions.  

As used in this article:  
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(a) The term "firm" includes any partnership, association, joint-stock company, trust, division of a corporation, the 

administrator or executor of the estate of a deceased individual, or the receiver, trustee, or successor of any of the same, 

or officer thereof, employing any person.  

(b) The term "employee" or "employees" includes any person suffered or permitted to work by a person, firm or 

corporation.  

(c) The term "wages" means compensation for labor or services rendered by an employee, whether the amount is 

determined on a time, task, piece, commission or other basis of calculation. As used in sections four, five, eight-a, ten and 

twelve of this article, the term "wages" shall also include then accrued fringe benefits capable of calculation and payable 

directly to an employee: Provided, That nothing herein contained shall require fringe benefits to be calculated contrary 

to any agreement between an employer and his employees which does not contradict the provisions of this article. 

(d) The term "commissioner" means commissioner of labor or his designated representative.  

(e) The term "railroad company" includes any firm or corporation engaged primarily in the business of transportation by 

rail.  

(f) The term "special agreement" means an arrangement filed with and approved by the commissioner whereby a person, 

firm or corporation is permitted upon a compelling showing of good cause to establish regular paydays less frequently 

than once in every two weeks: Provided, That in no event shall the employee be paid in full less frequently than once each 

calendar month on a regularly established schedule.  

(g) The term "deductions" includes amounts required by law to be withheld, and amounts authorized for union or club 

dues, pension plans, payroll savings plans, credit unions, charities and hospitalization and medical insurance. 

(h) The term "officer" shall include officers or agents in the management of a corporation or firm, who knowingly permit 

the corporation or firm to violate the provisions of this article.  

(i) The term "wages due" shall include at least all wages earned up to and including the twelfth day immediately preceding 

the regular payday.  

(j) The term "construction" means the furnishing of work in the fulfillment of a contract for the construction, alteration, 

decoration, painting or improvement of a new or existing building, structure, roadway or pipeline, or any part thereof, or 

for the alteration, improvement or development of real property: Provided, That construction performed for the owner 

or lessee of a single family dwelling or a family farming enterprise is excluded.  

(k) The term "minerals" means clay, coal, flagstone, gravel, limestone, manganese, sand, sandstone, shale, iron ore and 

any other metallurgical ore.  

(l) The term "fringe benefits" means any benefit provided an employee or group of employees by an employer, or which 

is required by law, and includes regular vacation, graduated vacation, floating vacation, holidays, sick leave, personal leave, 

production incentive bonuses, sickness and accident benefits and benefits relating to medical and pension coverage 

(m) The term "employer" means any person, firm or corporation employing any employee.  

(n) The term "doing business in this state" means having employees actively engaged in the intended principal activity of 

the person, firm or corporation in West Virginia. 

 


