<b>Office Use Only</b>	
File #:	

# West Virginia Division of Labor Bedding & Upholstery



Phone: (304) 722-0602

1900 Kanawha Boulevard East State Capitol Complex - Building 3, Room 200 Charleston, WV 25305 Weights@wv.gov



Fax: (304) 722-0605

# **APPLICATION FOR BEDDING & UPHOLSTERY CERTIFICATION / PERMIT**

# \*\*\*\*\*THIS APPLICATION IS NOT A RENEWAL FORM\*\*\*\*\*

CERTIFICATION/PERMIT TYPE:			PAYMENT TYPE:
			U.S. FUNDS ONLY
MANUFACTURER		\$90.00	СНЕСК 🗌
SECOND-HAND BUSINESS		No Charge	
STERILIZER (PERMIT)		\$90.00	
Check each certification/permit type listed be	elow that is	applicable	TOTAL FUNDS ENCLOSED
to your business and remit total fee(s) in U.S	6. funds to t	the	\$
West Virginia Division of Labor at the add	ress above	).	
BUSINESS INFORMATION: (All App	olicants Co	omplete This Sec	ction)
Business Name			Email Address
Mailing Address			Phone # of U.S. Contact Location
City State	e Zij	p	
Physical Location			Country
Signature			Date
MANUFACTURER REGISTRY INFORMAT	ION ONLY	: (Only Manufact	turer Applicants Complete This Section)
Name shown on this tag			Uniform Registry Number (U.R.N.)
	Product Mar	nufactured Under This	Tag
	Principal Mat	erials Used In This Pr	oduct
Signature Tit	le		Date
	IMPO	RTANT NOTICE	
1. You must submit two (2) labels for approv sale in the State of West Virginia.	al before a	ny articles under t	this Act are manufactured, sold or offered for

2. Labels must be a minimum of six (6) square inches in area and made of linen or like material.

3. If you are applying for a Sterilizer Permit, please call our office at (304)722-0602 for additional requirements in order to complete the application process.

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury that information provided on this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief and fully understand that making a false statement may result in loss of my certification and/or permit.

# WEST VIRGINIA CODE CHAPTER 47 REGULATION OF TRADE

# ARTICLE 1A REGULATION AND CONTROL OF BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY BUSINESSES

# §47-1A-1. Purpose of article

The purpose of this article is to protect the purchaser of articles of bedding as herein defined against disease and fraud.

# §47-1A-2. Definitions

As used in this article, unless the contents clearly require otherwise:

"Commissioner" means commissioner of labor.

"Department" means state department of labor.

"Bedding" or "articles of bedding" includes upholstered furniture and filling material (as herein defined) and any mattress, pillow, cushion, quilt, bed pad, comforter, upholstered spring bed, headboard, box springs, davenport or day bed, bedsprings, metal couch, metal bed, metal cot, metal cradle, metal bassinette, which is wholly or partly upholstered and is used or intended for use for sleeping, resting or reclining purposes.

"Upholstered furniture" means any article of household furniture wholly or partly stuffed or filled with soft material which is used or intended for use for sitting, resting or reclining purposes."Upholstered furniture" does not include any seat or cushion which is used in any automobile, truck, bus or airplane.

"Filling material" includes any hair, down, feathers, wool, cotton, kapok, or other soft material used in the manufacture of and for filling articles of bedding or upholstered furniture.

"New" means any material or article which has not been previously used for any purpose, including byproducts produced in the manufacture of any fabric and material reclaimed from new fabric: *Provided, however,* That an article of bedding returned by the purchaser for exchange, alteration, or correction within thirty days after date of delivery after original sale at retail, shall be deemed to be a new article, but if such article is returned later than thirty days after the date of such delivery, such article shall be deemed to be secondhand.

"Secondhand" means any material or article of which prior use has been made, except as otherwise provided in this article.

"Manufacture,""making,""make," or "made" includes altering, repairing, finishing or preparing articles of bedding or upholstered furniture or filling materials for sale, including remaking or renovating when done away from the home of the owner.

"Sale,""sell," or "sold" includes offering or exposing for sale or exchange or lease or consigning or delivery in consignment for sale, exchange or lease or holding in possession with like intent.

"Person" shall include persons, partnerships, corporations and associations.

# §47-1A-3. Sales of new or secondhand bedding prohibited unless tagged; sales of secondhand filling material as new prohibited; presence of secondhand material or bedding as evidence of sale or use

No person shall sell as new any article of bedding unless it is made from all new material and shall be tagged as hereinafter provided.

No person shall sell, representing it to be new material, any secondhand hair, down, feathers, wool, cotton, kapok or other material used for filling articles of bedding.

No person shall sell any article of bedding made from secondhand material unless it shall be tagged as hereinafter provided.

For the purposes of this article, the presence on the premises of any maker or vendor of any secondhand filling material or article of bedding shall be presumptive evidence of the sale or use.

# §47-1A-4. Bedding and filling material exposed to disease to be sterilized and tagged before sale

No person shall sell any article of bedding, or any filling material used in the making thereof, which has been used by or about any person having an infectious or contagious disease unless such article or material shall have been sterilized and is tagged as hereinafter provided.

# §47-1A-5. Filling material from any animal or fowl or unsanitary material to be sterilized

No person shall use any filling material to make any article of bedding for sale that is made from material (a) that comes from any animal or fowl, (b) that contains any bugs, vermin, insects or filth, (c) that is unsanitary, unless such material has been thoroughly sterilized by a process approved by the commissioner.

# §47-1A-6. Secondhand filling material to be sterilized

No person shall use any filling material to make any article of bedding for sale that is made from material that is secondhand unless such material has been thoroughly sterilized by a process approved by the commissioner.

# §47-1A-7. Registration by sellers of bedding or filling material required

No person, firm or corporation shall sell or offer for sale any article of bedding or filling material, as defined in this article, in the state of West Virginia, unless the person, firm or corporation is registered and paid the registration fee as defined in section fourteen of this article.

# §47-1A-8. Altering, defacing or removing tag or stamp

No person other than a purchaser at retail for his own use or benefit, except as herein otherwise provided, shall remove, deface, alter or cause to be removed, defaced or altered, any tag or inspection stamp attached to an article of bedding: **Provided, however,** That immediately after material used for filling has been removed from its container, the tag and inspection stamp thereon shall be removed and destroyed by the person removing such material.

# §47-1A-9. Counterfeiting stamps or permits

No person shall have in his possession or shall make, use or sell any counterfeit or colorable imitation of the inspection stamp or permit required by this article. Each counterfeited or imitated stamp or permit made, used, sold, offered for sale, delivered or consigned for sale shall constitute a separate offense.

# §47-1A-10. Sterilization processes; annual permits

(a) Any sterilization process used in connection herewith shall be approved by the commissioner. Every person desiring to operate such sterilization process shall first obtain a numbered permit from the commissioner and shall not operate such process unless such permit is kept conspicuously posted in his or her establishment. Application for such permit shall be accompanied by the specifications for the sterilization process to be employed by the applicant, in such form as the commissioner shall require. The commissioner shall take final action upon all completed permit applications within thirty days of receipt if the application is uncontested, or within ninety days if the application is contested. Such permit shall expire one year from date of issue.

(b) The commissioner may revoke or suspend any permit for violation of the provisions of this article. Upon notification of such revocation or suspension, the person to whom the permit was issued, or his or her successor or assignee, shall forthwith return such permit to the commissioner.

### §47-1A-11. Statements required on tags to be affixed to bedding

(1) Every article of bedding made for sale, sold or offered for sale shall have attached thereto a tag on which is stated the name of the filling material used, that such material used is new or secondhand and, when required to be sterilized, that such material has been sterilized and the number of the sterilization permit. Such tag shall also contain the name and address of the maker or the vendor and the registry number, as hereinafter provided, of the maker.

(2) Every remade or renovated article of bedding not for sale, before returned to the owner for his own use, shall have attached thereto a tag which, in addition to the statements hereinabove required, shall state the name and address of the remaker or renovator or the statement "remade and renovated for" followed by the name and address of the person for whom the article of bedding is renovated.

(3) In the description of the filling material used on any tag attached to an article of bedding, no term or designation intended or likely to mislead shall be used; but where such article contains more than one material, the amount of such materials shall be stated on the tag and there shall be no variance in excess of ten per centum from the amount stated on the tag: *Provided, however*, That no variance shall be allowed for filling material which is described as "all,""pure,""100%" or terms of similar import.

(4) A complete secondhand article of bedding which has not been remade or renovated may be sold "as is" without being sterilized, but the original tag shall be removed by the vendor and he shall attach a tag stating that the article is secondhand - - "contents unknown." This requirement shall not apply to articles sold at public auction, the sale of antique furniture, or to a private sale from the home of the owner direct to the purchaser: Provided, however, That the exceptions herein stated shall not authorize the sale of an article of bedding that has been exposed to infectious or contagious disease and which, after such exposure, has not been sterilized and approved for use.

# §47-1A-12. Tags to be approved by commissioner; material, color, form and size of tag

(1) Whenever a tag is required by this article, it shall be approved by the commissioner. Tags shall be made of muslin, linen or other material of like durability and shall be the same color stock throughout. Paper-faced tags shall not be used.

(2) For designating all new material, the tags shall be white; for designating secondhand or renovated material or articles, the tag shall be yellow; for designating articles or materials placed off-sale by the commissioner, as hereinafter provided, the tag shall be blue; and for designating articles or materials exposed to infectious or contagious disease and declared "unclean" by the commissioner, as hereinafter provided, the tag shall be red.

(3) Statements required on tags shall be legibly printed or stamped on one side only, in the English language, and in letters at least one eighth of an inch in height. Tags attached to mattresses or pillows shall be at least six square inches in area. The commissioner may permit smaller tags or he may require larger tags for other articles. On each tag, there shall be a certification that such article complies with the requirements of law, but such tag also may state that the article complies with the law of any other state.

# §47-1A-13. Commissioner's authority to prohibit sales; tagging bedding or material exposed to disease "unclean"

(1) The commissioner shall order off-sale, and may so tag, any article of bedding or material therefor, which is not tagged as hereinbefore required or which is tagged with a tag bearing a misleading term, description, designation or statement and no articles or materials placed off-sale or seized by the commissioner, or any duly authorized employee of the bedding division, shall be sold nor shall the contents thereof be altered, interfered with or removed in whole or in part, nor shall the articles or contents thereof be removed from the premises where placed off-sale or seized until such articles or materials are released by the commissioner. All articles or materials placed off-sale or seized shall be subject to frequent examination by the commissioner or his duly authorized inspector. Such articles or materials must be so placed or stored as to be readily accessible at all times and shall be produced for examination upon demand of the commissioner or any such employee made upon the person or persons in charge of the establishment or premises where such articles or materials are placed off-sale or seized off-sale or seized off-sale or seized shall be produced for examination upon demand of the commissioner or any such employee made upon the person or persons in charge of the establishment or premises where such articles or materials are placed off-sale or seized off-sale or seized off-sale or seized shall be produced for examination upon the person or persons in charge of the establishment or premises where such articles or materials are placed off-sale or seized shall be produced for examination upon demand of the commissioner or any such employee made upon the person or persons in charge of the establishment or premises where such articles or materials are placed off-sale or were seized.

(2) If the commissioner or any duly authorized employee of the bedding division shall find any article of bedding or filling material which has been used by or about any person having an infectious or contagious disease, he shall tag such article of bedding or material with a tag bearing the word

"unclean" in conspicuous letters. Such tag shall not be removed except by the commissioner or such duly authorized employee.

# §47-1A-14. Annual registration and permit fees

(a) The annual registration fee for all manufacturers shipping or selling articles of bedding and for upholsterers or renovators, as defined in this article, in the State of West Virginia shall be \$90, payable on the first day of the fiscal year. Any manufacturer, upholsterer or renovator who submits an annual registration fee on or after July 16 shall pay a \$25 late fee in addition to the annual fee.

(b) The annual sterilizer permit fee shall be \$90, payable on the first day of the fiscal year. Any sterilizer who submits an annual permit fee on or after July 16 shall pay a \$25 late fee in addition to the annual fee.

(c) The fee for reissuing a revoked or expired registration or permit shall be \$90.

(d) All fees paid pursuant to this article shall be paid to the Commissioner of Labor and deposited in an appropriated special revenue account hereby created in the State Treasury to be known as the Bedding and Upholstery Fund and expended for the implementation and enforcement of this article. Amounts collected which are found from time to time to exceed funds needed for the purposes set forth in this article may be utilized by the commissioner as needed to meet the division's funding obligations.

# §47-1A-15. Organization of bedding division; rules and regulations; enforcement of article

The commissioner of labor shall have the power and duty, to:

(1) Create and organize a division of the department of labor to be known as the "bedding division" for the purpose of administering and enforcing the provisions of this article; (2) appoint, remove and fix the compensation of the employees of the bedding division; (3) prescribe uniform rules pertaining to and not in conflict with the provisions of this article, to carry out the intent and purpose of this article; (4) invoke any legal, equitable or special remedy for the enforcement of orders or the provisions of this chapter; (5) cooperate with other agencies of the state of West Virginia for the purpose of securing laboratory analyses of the filling material used in articles of bedding; (6) exercise any other power necessary for the proper administration of the division of bedding, and the enforcement of the provisions contained in this article.

# §47-1A-16

Repealed.

Acts, 1963 Reg. Sess., Ch. 89.

# §47-1A-17. Power of inspection and seizure; obstruction of commissioner or employees prohibited

Every place where articles of bedding are made, remade or renovated, or materials therefor are prepared or sterilized, where such articles or materials are sold, shall be subject to inspection by the commissioner or duly authorized employee of the bedding division who shall have the power to inspect

the manufacture and sale or delivery of all articles or materials covered by this article, to open and examine the contents thereof and power to seize and hold for evidence any article of bedding, in whole or in part, which he has reason to believe is made or sold or held in possession in violation of this article. No person shall interfere with, obstruct or otherwise hinder the commissioner or an employee of the bedding division in the performance of his duties.

# §47-1A-18. Penalties for violations

Any person who violates a provision of this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall, for a first offense, be fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than five hundred dollars; for a second or subsequent offense, shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned for not more than thirty days, or both, such fine and imprisonment to be within the discretion of the court.

# LEGISLATIVE RULE TITLE 42 DIVISION OF LABOR

# SERIES 12 BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE

### §42-12-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- Legislative Rules and Regulations for bedding and upholstery businesses are for the purpose of carrying out the intent and purpose of W. Va. Code §47-1A.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §47-1A-15.

1.3. Filing Date. -- June 3, 2013.

1.4. Effective Date. -- July 1, 2013.

1.5. Repeal of former rule. – This rule repeals and places 42 CSR 12, "Bedding and Upholstered Furniture" filed December 31, 1982 and effective December 31, 1982.

# §42-12-2. Application and Enforcement.

2.1. Application. This rule applies to all persons governed or otherwise within the purview of the Regulation and Control of Bedding and Upholstery Businesses Act, W. Va. Code §47-1A -1, *et seq*.

2.2. Enforcement. The enforcement of this rule is vested with the West Virginia Division of Labor.

### §42-12-3. Definitions.

3.1. The "Act" or "the law," for purposes of this rule, means the Regulation and Control of Bedding and Upholstery Businesses Act, W. Va. Code §47-1A -1, *et seq*.

3.2. "Antique" means a product that is at least 75 years old.

3.3. "As is" means the condition of an intact, complete secondhand article of bedding that has not been remade or renovated in any way.

3.4. "Bedding" or "article of bedding" means any article intended for human use for sleeping, resting or reclining purposes, such as quilted pads, mattress pads, hammock pads, mattresses, comforters, quilts, sleeping bags, box springs, studio couches, pillows, cushions, etc., and includes the filling material used in their manufacture.

3.5. "Fill material" or "filling material" means any material used in the manufacture or renovation of articles of bedding or upholstered furniture, including cotton, wool, kapok, feathers, down, hair or any other material or combination of materials.

3.6. "IABFLO" refers to the International Association of Bedding and Furniture Law Officials, <u>http://abflo.info/index.htm.</u>

3.7. "Manufacturer" means a person that makes or produces articles of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material, using either new or secondhand materials.

3.8. "Person" means an individual, a partnership, an association, a business, an auctioneer, a trust, a corporation, or any other entity engaged in the manufacturing, selling, renovating, upholstering or sterilizing any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.

3.9. Registration number" or "registry number" means the unique number assigned by the Division to an applicant for a registration certificate, or a uniform registry number assigned to an applicant by another State.

3.10. "Renovator" means a person who repairs, remakes, rebuilds, recovers, restores, renovates or renews any article of bedding or upholstered furniture.

3.11. "Retailer," "seller," "supplier," "distributor" or "vendor" means a person who sells any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.

3.12. "Sell" means to offer or expose for sale, barter, trade, deliver, give away, rent, consign, lease, possess with an intent to sell, or dispose of in any commercial manner.

3.13. "Sterilizer" means a person who sterilizes articles of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.

3.14. "Tag," "label," or "law label" means the tag or label required by W. Va. Code §47-1A-11 to be affixed to articles of bedding or upholstered furniture.

3.15. "Uniform Registry Number System" means the system accepted by all states in the United States that allows the use of one state's registration number for use on any other state's law labels or tags.

3.16. "Upholstered furniture" means any article of furniture intended for human use for sitting, resting or reclining that is wholly or partially stuffed or filled with filling material, including outdoor furniture pads.

3.17. "Upholsterer" means a person who manufactures upholstered furniture.

# §42-12-4. Adoption of Standardized Classification of Filling Materials.

IABFLO's "Classification of Filling Materials" is adopted and incorporated by reference in this rule.

# §42-12-5. Registration Certificate Required; Validity.

5.1. Before manufacturing, renovating, or upholstering any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material for shipment into or sale or rental in this State, a manufacturer, renovator or upholsterer shall submit a properly completed application for a registration certificate to the Commissioner on a form provided by the Division.

5.2. A registration certificate expires annually on June 30.

5.3. A registration certificate is valid for the business location and name as stated on the certificate, and is not valid if transferred or assigned to any other business location or name.

# §42-12-6. Initial and Renewal Application for a Registration Certificate; Fees.

6.1. A manufacturer, renovator or upholsterer shall submit a separate application for a registration certificate for each business location or name.

6.2. An applicant for an initial or renewal manufacturer registration certificate shall include a \$50.00 fee for each business location or name.

6.3. An applicant for an initial or renewal renovator or upholsterer registration certificate shall include a \$10.00 fee for each business location or name.

6.4. An applicant for an initial or renewal registration certificate shall pay the required application fee in United States currency. The preferred method for payment of the application fee is by credit card.

6.4.1. If the applicant submits the fee by check, the check shall be drawn on a bank that has a banking charter or license issued by a state in the United States or is chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

6.4.2. If the applicant submits the fee by check drawn on a bank not chartered or licensed by a state in the United States or not chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Commissioner shall refuse the check and return it to the applicant.

6.5. An applicant for an initial registration certification shall include 2 original tags or labels intended for use with an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.

6.5.1. An applicant may submit a template for approval by the Commissioner prior to having the tags or labels printed.

6.5.2. Before issuing a registration certificate, the Commissioner shall approve the applicant's tag or label for use.

6.6. The Division shall mail annual renewal applications to current certificate holders at their last known registered address no later than April 15.

# §42-12-7. Sterilizer Permit Required; Posting of the Permit.

7.1. Before sterilizing any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material for shipment into, or for sale or rental in this State, a sterilizer shall submit a properly completed application for a sterilizer's permit to the Commissioner on a form provided by the Division.

7.2. A sterilizer permit expires annually on June 30.

7.3. A sterilizer permit is valid for the business location and name as stated on the permit, and is not valid if transferred or assigned to any other business location or name.

7.4. The sterilizer shall ensure that the sterilizer permit is conspicuously posted near the sterilizing equipment.

# §42-12-8. Initial and Renewal Application for a Sterilizer Permit; Fees.

8.1. A sterilizer shall submit a separate application for a sterilizer permit for each business location or name.

8.2. An applicant for an initial sterilizer permit shall include a \$25.00 fee for each business location or name.

8.3. An applicant for a renewal sterilizer permit shall include a \$10.00 fee for each business location or name.

8.4. An applicant shall pay the required application fee in United States currency. The preferred method for payment of the application fee is by credit card.

8.4.1. If the applicant submits the fee by check, the check shall be drawn on a bank that has a banking charter or license issued by a state in the United States or is chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

8.4.2. If the applicant submits the fee by check drawn on a bank not chartered or licensed by a state in the United States or not chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Commissioner shall refuse the check and return it to the applicant.

8.5. An applicant for an initial or renewal sterilizer permit shall include a complete description of its sterilization process and procedures, including identification of the types of items to be sterilized and the names of the chemicals to be used.

8.6. An applicant for a renewal sterilizer permit shall include a description of any changes to its previously approved sterilization process.

8.7. Before issuing a sterilizer permit, the Commissioner shall approve the proposed sterilization process. If the Commissioner does not approve the sterilization process, he or she shall provide the applicant with a written explanation for the disapproval.

8.8. The Division shall mail annual renewal applications to current permit holders at their last known address no later than April 15.

# §42-12-9. Issuance of a Registration or Permit Number.

9.1. Upon receipt of a properly completed application for a registration certificate or sterilizer permit, the Division shall assign a registration or permit number to the applicant, or shall use the applicant's uniform registration number, if one is available.

9.2. The Division shall assign or use a unique registration or sterilizer number for each business name or location.

9.3. A manufacturer, renovator, upholsterer or sterilizer shall use the registration or permit number assigned by the Division on all labels or tags required by the Act or this rule.

# §42-12-10. Tags or Labels Required; Information Required.

10.1. "All New Material" white tag or label.

10.1.1. A manufacturer shall ensure that a white tag or label is properly attached to an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material that contains all new material, and that the white tag or label conforms to the provisions of W. Va. Code §§47-1A-11 and - 12.

10.1.2. When the bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material does not require sterilizing, the "All New Material" white tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix A of this rule.

10.1.3. When the bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material does require sterilizing, the "All New Material" white tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix B of this rule.

10.2. "Secondhand material" yellow tag or label.

10.2.1. A renovator, upholsterer or sterilizer shall ensure that a yellow tag or label is properly attached to an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material that contains secondhand material, and that the yellow tag or label conforms to the provisions of W. Va. Code §§47-1A-11 and -12.

10.2.2. When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture has been renovated or otherwise remade and has been sterilized, the "Renovated or Remade - Sterilized" light yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix C of this rule.

10.2.3. When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture has been renovated or otherwise remade for a specific owner and not for sale to the general public, the "Renovated or Remade for Specific Owner - Not To Be Sold" light yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix D of this rule.

10.2.4. When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture is intact, complete, has not been renovated or otherwise remade from its immediate prior owner, and has not been sterilized, the "Secondhand - Contents Unknown - Not Sterilized" dark yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix E of this rule.

10.2.5. When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture is intact, complete, has not been renovated or otherwise remade from its immediate prior owner, and has been sterilized, the "Secondhand - Contents Unknown - Sterilized" dark yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix F of this rule.

10.3. "Declared Unclean" red tag or label.

10.3.1. If the Commissioner determines that an article of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material has come into contact with, or could have come into contact with, an individual with an infectious or contagious disease, he or she shall cause a red tag or label to be affixed to the exposed items.

10.3.2. When an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material has been declared unclean, the "Declared Unclean" red tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix G of this rule.

10.4. "Article or Material Placed Off-Sale" blue tag or label.

10.4.1. If the Commissioner determines that an article of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material is not properly tagged or labeled as required by W. Va. Code §§47-1A-11 and -12, or that the tag or label contains inaccurate or misleading terms or information, he or she shall cause a blue tag or label to be affixed to the improperly or inaccurately tagged or labeled items.

10.4.2. When an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material has been improperly or inaccurately tagged or labeled, the "Article or Material Placed Off-sale" blue tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix H of this rule.

# **Bedding Tag Printers (WV)**

# **Dunbar Printing Company**

/ 1310 Ohio Avenue
 Dunbar, WV 25064
 (304) 768-1281

# **Greenbrier Printing Company**

Lewisburg, WV

(304) 645-3030

Southern Law Label

(888) 829-8080

**Contact:** Carolyn Bailey

cjb@southernlabel.com

**\*\***\*This list is to be used solely for information purpose, and **NOT** to be considered as endorsement for any particular company or the service(s) each may provide.

### APPENDIX A

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY WHITE SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

#### ALL NEW MATERIAL

# STITCHING AREA

UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

> ALL NEW MATERIAL CONSISTING OF:

CONTENTS STERILIZED

REGISTRATION #:

CERTIFICATION IS MADE BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

NAME AND ADDRESS OF MANUFACTURER,

OPTIONAL INFORMATION

DATE OF DELIVERY: FINISHED SIZE AND/OR WEIGHT: FEDERAL RN #: MADE IN:

### APPENDIX B

# BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY LIGHT YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### SECONDHAND MATERIAL

### **RENOVATED OR REMADE - STERILIZED**

STITCHING AREA
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER
THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN RENOVATED BY ADDING THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS
OR
NO MATERIALS ADDED
STERILIZATION PERMIT #: WV
REGISTRATION #:
CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW
DATE STERILIZED
NAME AND ADDRESS OF RENOVATOR OR REMAKER

### APPENDIX C

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY LIGHT YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### RENOVATED OR REMADE FOR A SPECIFIC OWNER

### NOT TO BE SOLD

### STITCHING AREA

UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN RENOVATED BY ADDING THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS

OR

NO MATERIALS ADDED

STERILIZATION PERMIT #: WV

**REGISTRATION #:** 

CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

NOT FOR SALE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC NAME AND ADDRESS OF OWNER

DATE STERILIZED:

CONTENTS NOT STERILIZED:

NAME AND ADDRESS OF REMAKER OR RENOVATOR

### APPENDIX D

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY DARK YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### SECONDHAND CONTENTS - CONTENTS UNKNOWN

NOT STERILIZED

 STITCHING AREA

 UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG<br/>SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE<br/>CONSUMER

 SECONDHAND<br/>CONTENTS UNKNOWN<br/>NOT STERILIZED

 REGISTRATION #:

 CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS<br/>IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN<br/>ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

 NAME AND ADDRESS OF VENDOR

 SOLD BY

#### APPENDIX E

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY DARK YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### SECONDHAND CONTENTS - CONTENTS UNKNOWN

STERILIZED

STITCHING AREAUNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG<br/>SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE<br/>CONSUMERSECONDHAND<br/>CONTENTS UNKNOWN<br/>STERILIZEDSTERILIZATION PERMIT #:<br/>DATE STERILIZED:CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS<br/>IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN<br/>ACCORDANCE WITH LAWNAME AND ADDRESS OF STERILIZERSOLD BY

#### APPENDIX F

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY RED SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### CONTENTS DECLARED UNCLEAN

### STITCHING AREA

UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED

THIS ARTICLE OR MATERIAL HAS BEEN PLACED OFF-SALE BY THE COMMISSIONER OF THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR

**SPECIAL NOTES:** 

THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN DECLARED "UNCLEAN"

NAME AND ADDRESS OF LOCATION WHERE PLACED OFF-SALE

### APPENDIX G

### BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY BLUE SAMPLE TAG / LABEL

### ARTICLE OR MATERIAL PLACED OFF-SALE

STITCHING AREA
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG NOT BE REMOVED
THIS ARTICLE OR MATERIAL HAS BEEN PLACED OFF-SALE BY THE COMMISSIONER OF THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR
SPECIAL NOTES:
NAME AND ADDRESS OF LOCATION WHERE PLACED OFF-SALE