If you hold a WV Contractor License, these are some requirements you should know. If you have questions about these or other related topics, contact the WV Division of Labor at (304) 558-7890. The contractor license number must appear in all advertisements and on all contracts. The license must be posted in a “conspicuous position” at construction sites. No license may be used by any person other than the person to whom the license is issued. Local building permits cannot be issued to any contractor who does not possess a valid license if the total cost of a job is $2,500 or more.
If a license is renewed more than 15 days after the expiration date, a $25 penalty fee is charged in addition to the annual $90 renewal charge. A license which has lapsed for 90 days or more cannot be renewed.
No persons licensed under the provisions of this code may perform contracting work of an aggregate value of ten thousand dollars or more, including materials and labor, without a written contract setting forth a description and cost of the work to be performed, signed by the licensee and the person for whom the work is to be performed.
The following reciprocity agreements have been approved by the Contractor Licensing Board:
Alabama - (HVAC Classification), Ohio - (Electrical Classification) and North Carolina - (Electrical Classification)
On September 1, 2013 the Contractor Licensing Board started accepting General Building exam scores administered by PSI Services, Inc. on behalf of National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA).